25 Reviews

Made mine just like the recipe and it is heavenly! It was so easy with the cocoa - no melting needed! I made to serve with some pumpkin cupcakes. I will definitely use this recipe again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F September 29, 2010

Wow, this is sooo good just like History Teacher said! I used it on a chocolate cake that I added chocolate chips too and wow. My Hubby and Neighbour asked for seconds, I am sure the cake will be gone by tomorrow night for they work from home! If you are looking for a light fluffy frosting and want chocolaty this is it! I will be making this again! Used 1/2 c. of the cocoa like others posted and YUMMMMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Westphal September 09, 2010

I used this recipe as a base for a my version. I used 3 oz whipped cream cheese walmart brand. I set it out for an hour to keep it at room temperature. Then I used smart butter brand 1/4 cup. (its less fatty butter than others) heat it microwave for 30secs leave out for 30 minutes to cool.Then 1/2 cup Hersey's Cocoa 100% special Dark. 3 teaspoon of milk and 1/2 teasp vanilla extract and 2 c powered sugar I omited the salt. Its a fantastic topping with my brownie (Ghiraradelli double choc mix) I'm rather my m own treats then buy from store or restaurants at least you know whats in it Tina Rocbodyfitness.webs.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdadavis October 10, 2009

I've tried so many other chocolate frostings from this site, but this is hands down the best. This has become my go-to frosting. I upped the cocoa to a 1/2 cup and was really pleased with the deep chocolate flavor. I used 1% milk because it was what I had, but I am planning to try it with cream, since I think it will make a great frosting even richer and creamier. It was quick to put together and tastes fantastic on my homemade brownies. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJen March 15, 2009

This is sooooo good. It spreads like a dream. Easy to make and passed the taste test of my teenager! I will use this over and over again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hobbgal March 20, 2008

If you are looking for a perfect frosting, this is it. Can't say much more than that. Made up a double batch because my oldest wanted a "chocolate, chocolate" cake. This put it over the top. Made several copies of this recipe for people, so it made an impression.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhennigan101 October 14, 2015

Per other reviews, used 1/2 cup cocoa. Turned out easily, and delicious. Frosted 12 cupcakes thickly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole May 22, 2015

This is so soft and creamy. Perfect amount of chocolate. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 30, 2013

Made exactly as posted and it is delicious. Used it to frost a Banana Walnut cake and it was a wonderful addition.Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom July 28, 2013

Fabulous frosting!! The flavor is wonderful. The chocolate is spot-on, definite great chocolate flavor, and a nice hint from the cream cheese came through. The texture was smooth and creamy. I used to fill whoopie pies with peanut butter cookies - fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews September 29, 2012
Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting