Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2010

      Made mine just like the recipe and it is heavenly! It was so easy with the cocoa - no melting needed! I made to serve with some pumpkin cupcakes. I will definitely use this recipe again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      Wow, this is sooo good just like History Teacher said! I used it on a chocolate cake that I added chocolate chips too and wow. My Hubby and Neighbour asked for seconds, I am sure the cake will be gone by tomorrow night for they work from home! If you are looking for a light fluffy frosting and want chocolaty this is it! I will be making this again! Used 1/2 c. of the cocoa like others posted and YUMMMMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I used this recipe as a base for a my version. I used 3 oz whipped cream cheese walmart brand. I set it out for an hour to keep it at room temperature. Then I used smart butter brand 1/4 cup. (its less fatty butter than others) heat it microwave for 30secs leave out for 30 minutes to cool.Then 1/2 cup Hersey's Cocoa 100% special Dark. 3 teaspoon of milk and 1/2 teasp vanilla extract and 2 c powered sugar I omited the salt. Its a fantastic topping with my brownie (Ghiraradelli double choc mix) I'm rather my m own treats then buy from store or restaurants at least you know whats in it Tina Rocbodyfitness.webs.com

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I've tried so many other chocolate frostings from this site, but this is hands down the best. This has become my go-to frosting. I upped the cocoa to a 1/2 cup and was really pleased with the deep chocolate flavor. I used 1% milk because it was what I had, but I am planning to try it with cream, since I think it will make a great frosting even richer and creamier. It was quick to put together and tastes fantastic on my homemade brownies. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This is sooooo good. It spreads like a dream. Easy to make and passed the taste test of my teenager! I will use this over and over again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      This is so soft and creamy. Perfect amount of chocolate. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      Made exactly as posted and it is delicious. Used it to frost a Banana Walnut cake and it was a wonderful addition.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Fabulous frosting!! The flavor is wonderful. The chocolate is spot-on, definite great chocolate flavor, and a nice hint from the cream cheese came through. The texture was smooth and creamy. I used to fill whoopie pies with peanut butter cookies - fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      fabulous and easy to make frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      This is a great basic frosting recipe. I used 1/2 cup cocoa powder, upon others' suggestions, and it turned out great. Soft texture, and tastes delicious. Good balance of cream cheese and chocolate flavors. Next time will try with special dark cocoa powder. One more thing - this makes a small amount of frosting, so you may want to double or triple it for a 9" layer cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      It had a really good flavor, but was super runny. I guess I was also hoping it would taste like chocolate cream cheese. I kept adding more cream cheese til it did - maybe an equal part to the frosting I had already made. I also only added half the sugar to make it more bittersweet. Interestingly, I added the powdered sugar last, and it actually made it runny and thin - it was super thick before adding it. I wonder if regular sugar would have done the same. Probably leaving the milk out would have helped make it thicker too (or you could wait to add it til the end to see if you need it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Perfect frosting! This will be my go-to from now on. I doubled the recipe and have a ton left over in my fridge (not very good at judging how much I would need for 18 cupcakes.... definitely one recipe). I didn't have the full amount of cocoa, but it is so good even with less. I would eat it straight, but that would be naughty so I better add it to something fattening :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Definitely a keeper! It was very light and had a great flavor that went great with the chocolate cupcakes that we made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      The consistency was like a whipped frosting. We enjoyed it although I am not sure if we'll make it again simply because of the little bit of tang the cream cheese gives it. It was definately better the next day, the cocoa and powdered sugar need a little time to melt into the wetingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Very nice. I used it to frost banana bread. I tink if I make it again, I will use more cocoa; 1/2 cup. I would like it a little more chocolaty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Easy to work with and very good! I doubled the recipe for a layer cake. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Super easy! Like others have mentioned it spreads great! And best of all it tastes wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Yum! That is all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I doubled this frosting and omitted the salt. It was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This frosting tastes great and is very easy to make. I love that you don't have to use the stove like a lot of the other frosting recipes I looked at. I made this to go over the 1 Pan Fudge Cake (#29935) and it was a very nice addition. This frosting wasn't thick like a lot of the store bought frostings, but it was perfect for what I needed - the consistency made it a lot easier to spread on my cake. I'm going to try it over brownies, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.5
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    41%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 27.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 108.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 29.7 g
    119%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes