Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cowboy Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cowboy Cookies

    Average Rating:

    84 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 84

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2003

      Chocolateee Good! Yes they are quick and easy. They stay nice and full don`t flatten out like some cookies do. You can`t even tell thay are made with oatmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      This wonderful cookie makes you rub your tummy and say, "ahhhhhhh". We loved the combination of chocolate chips, oatmeal and nuts (I used walnuts). This is a real crowd pleaser and I will make over and over again. Thank you so much, CountryLady, for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Can't believe I haven't reviewed these yet, I've been making them for years! These are the best chocolate chips ever, and I don't say that lightly. I always make a double batch, and they get raves when I take them to someone's home.

      I've made them with only brown sugar when I ran out of white sugar, but that makes them slightly too molassesy (although they're still great!) I use butter, always, and the texture and taste is perfect.

      Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      These were really good. Very fudgey chocolatey but not dense.. The mix was very dry and I had to read back over everything to make sure I'd followed it correctly... I did.. it's just dry. I loved the oatmeal in them.. and think I'll try them without the chocolate chips next time (I hear the gasps... LOL)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      My kids devoured these too within minutes. The only mistake I made was not doubling the recipe when I made it. Absolutely delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      These cookies are fabulous and so easy to make! I baked some for a friend of mine who took them to her office and "a fight almost broke out" over the last one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      Outstanding! Delicious! Wayyyy too good! These cookies are not only yummy, they are also addictive :) Easy to make, too. It doesn't get much better then this. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2003

      YUMMY, These cookies are very good and easy to make, followed recipe and had no problem's, love the chocolate flavour and yes you can't even tell it has oatmeal in it. Where is my glass of milk. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      My new favorite cookie! Only change was I used butter. Also used my small pampered chef scoop to drop cookies on sheet. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

    • on December 30, 2012

      We made a lot of cookies for Christmas this year, trying several different recipes for the first time, this being one. Must admit, when sampled straight from the oven, I wasn't all that impressed. The oatmeal was still chewy and the flavors weren't fully developed yet, as it turns out. Later, though, after the flour dust settled and I sat down for a more in depth taste test, these really stood out from the crowd. The crunch is perfect, the taste divine, and the cookies disappear quickly whether I'm in the room or not,usually a good sign. Considering the small amounts of sugar and cocoa needed, the use of shortening instead of butter, and that all ingredients are generally on hand this recipe is moving to the top of my list, not- just -for- Christmas- cookies designation. I'm an admitted chocoholic and these fit my needs very nicely, thanks to the chef for posting, them little cowpokes know their cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      OMG their good!! I had one warm from the oven and I'm in heaven. They aren't the prettiest cookie I've ever seen but who cares they taste yummy. I doubled the recipe and I don't think I'll get anywhere near 60 cookies. Maybe 40 using about a tbsp of dough per cookie. I used half margarine half shortening and about 1 cup of butterscotch chips, no nuts. Hard to tell when they are done because they are already brown. Love finding recipes with ingredients I have on hand. Thanks for sharing this gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      These are excellent cookies!! I added about a half cup each of cococnut and dried cranberries and only used about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. I over baked my first batch, I didn't think they looked done. I think the cooking time stated on the recipe is perfect. I be making these again and again. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      very easy and tasty.I used dairy and soy free 'butter spread' and they worked out really well. I also only had old-fashioned oats .I will make these again!.I will try the instant oats next time if I have them to compare!! My children loved them especially served with vanilla ice cream! Thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      These were pretty good. The only difference I made was subbing the butter for applesauce. These were much more like a breakfast cookie to me, not much of a sweet. Maybe because the flavor of the oatmeal was so prominent. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      These were excellent. I cut down to a 1/4 cup chocolate chips, added nuts and used 3/4 cup butter instead of margarine. Next time I would add a few teaspoons coconut. I plan to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This is great and easy chocolate cookie. Loved it!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      SO good! I omitted the nuts and used 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips. These have a really great chocolate flavor, and this is coming from someone who is not the biggest fan of chocolate. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Made these 3 times so far & have learned to make a double recipe since they fly outta the kitchen! I use one 12 oz bag of chips for a double recipe. Also I added 1 C sweetned coconut which will be a permanent addition to my double batch! Lastly, I like almonds so I add 3 whole almonds per 1T of dough when I put them on the sheet pan. Nice changeup from the normal Chocolate Chip! Happy Cookie-ing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Great chocolately cookie. I used dark cocoa and a mixture of granola and steel cut oatmeal (didn't have quick oats). I also added two tablespoons of ground flax. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cowboy Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (811 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.6
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    42%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 6.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 83.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes