26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had leftover chocolate chips from another Strawberry recipe listed here. They were more adult friendly with coffee liqueur in them. I decided to try this recipe so they had some strawberries to try. Instead of the adding the fat, I added 2 Tablespoon of strong brewed coffee like the other recipe I tried called for plus my children love the flavor of coffee. I liked the idea of using toothpicks to help hold the strawberries while you dipped them in the chocolate. I used a double boiler to melt the chocolate and then added the brewed coffee. I couldnit put the chocolate covered strawberries into the styrofoam without touching the tips. Instead, I placed them on wax paper to dry.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M April 08, 2003

Excellant! It also worked well with bananas. I cut the bananas into 1 inch pieces and froze them for 1/2 hour before dipping. Proceed as above. Yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPHT February 06, 2005

These are yummy! I used butter in place of the shortening. Too easy to eat too many!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
89240 March 12, 2004

good, i tried the way audrey suggested with the coffee instead of using the shortening to reduce the calories. The mixture kinda was a funny pasty texture but it tasted good and was quick and easy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashwee June 25, 2003

I found this exact recipe in the current Readers Digest, and it's delicious. The only thing I did differently, was to melt the chocolate in the microwave ( I think it's easier ) You start out at about a min.- 1 1/2 min.(on high), stir, then continue to heat at 10 second intervals, stirring each time, until the chocolate is melted. Watch closely, because timing depends on the power of your microwave. Hope this helps.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 February 09, 2011

These were delicious! I did sub in butter instead of the shortening. They were also so easy. I will say, that I didn't realize that they couldn't be dipped the night before, so by the time it was time to eat them, the chocolate had gotten grainy (I think the strawberries were letting out juice). However, as easy as they are to make, the next time I serve these (and there will be a next time) I'll just make them right before serving. Thanks, BrendaM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two June 19, 2009

So, I think I ate about 12 of these just now- need I say more? Perfectly smooth chocolate made it easy to cover the strawberries and after cooling, the chocolate had the perfect *snap* we were looking for upon biting into them. They took a little over an hour in the fridge to set and it was well worth the wait. Oh, and instead of using a double boiler, I just microwaved the chocolate and shortening together for a few minutes on 50% power, checking and stirring every 20 seconds. VERY easy and delicious! Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vitameatavegamin Girl March 08, 2007

These chocolate covered strawberries are the best I've ever made,and there easy to make!I put Nonpareils Dessert Sprinkles on the tops to add extra color.I made a little extra chocolate and double dipped some.Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather G. May 22, 2005

These were so good. I made them for a bridal shower and they were a huge hit. I had so many requests for this recipe. After reading the other reviews I might try them with bananas the next time. Thanks Brenda M for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Comet March 06, 2004

Five star for sure.These were absolutetly delicious. I made these for valentines day and they were a huge hit. I didn't change a thing. I will be making these again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy February 17, 2004
Chocolate Covered Strawberries