107 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious.A couple of tips. You can melt the chocolate in a microwave @ 50% power, for a min.- 1 1/2 min. stir, then melt at 10 second intervals, stirring each time, until chocolate is melted. ( I think this is easier). Watch closely, timing will depend on the wattage of your microwave. Also, if you don't want "flat" spots on your berries, stick a toothpick in the stem end, dip in melted chocolate, let excess drip off, and then stick toothpick (with strawberrie attached) in a block of styrofoam to cool. Hope this helps.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 February 09, 2011

Here is a trick for drying these without them touching anything. Insert a toothpick into the stem end of the strawberry and turn upside down. Stick the other end into a peice of styrofoam. Works like a charm!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Josie-Jo June 08, 2005

So delicious! I will NEVER use the ready made stuff ever again. This is so perfect, the chocolate stays soft, almost chewy, not crunchy and brittle. Thanks for the best chocolate dipped strawberries ever. So easy to make too. Can't wait to try dipping bananas and pineapple and apples and whatever else I can find along the way!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mish1nyc June 07, 2011

Fabulous recipe Karen! I used Ghirardelli double chocolate chips, and some beautiful strawberries. We melted the mixture in the microwave...it took about 2 minutes. Great, easy recipe that I will come back to again and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao February 10, 2004

By far the best chocolate covered strawberry recipe I have come across. The butter and corn syrup make it less brittle and a little more sweet. Also, for those of you having difficulty with the grainy consistency, it is usually because you got some moisture into the chocolate mixture. Make sure that your strawberries are completely dry before dipping, and be sure to use very short intervals if you are microwaving. Check after each 7-10 seconds, the mixture's consistency can change very quickly. Delicious!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mmmm Donuts May 15, 2013

A LOT easier than I expected! I will buy nicer strawberries next time. I got some from Target, who now carries produce in our area. Next time, I'll get from Whole Foods since taste is so much better from there. I used mostly semi-sweet chips. Next time I will do milk, since I perfer it. I was looking for other stuff to dunk once I finished with my berries. Yum! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjorie D. February 15, 2012

I am unfortunately the dissenting voice in these reviews and even more unfortunately, it took two tries with expensive chocolate and fresh butter to find this out. During both tries, I ended up with a grainy textured mess and still cannot figure out why, because I regularly use make chocolate dipped goodies and just decided to try a different recipe than my regular. Went back to my old method, but thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend February 01, 2009

These were a hit on my snack table. I had prepared a variety of savory treats, a veggie tray and only these dipped strawberries for a sweet treat. Everyone loved them. The glaze is very easy to prepare and has a deep rich flavor. These strawberries were a decadent treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. February 28, 2004

Nothing better to set the tone... ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ssinha63 February 14, 2013

Delish! They won't last long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 June 06, 2012
Chocolate-Covered Strawberries