Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Covered Saltine Crackers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Covered Saltine Crackers

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2010

      I made these but used Reese peanut butter chips and mini semi-sweet choc chips. I put the peanut butter chips on first and put back in the oven for 1 min to make sure they melted. I spread the peanut butter chips and then added the semi-sweet chips. Again I put them in the oven for about a minute and then spread the chocolate.

      Tried a "smore-like" variation.... Used graham crackers, then put on mini marshmallows (again back in the oven for about a minute) then added milk chocolate chips and put in the over for another minute then spread the marshmallow/chocolate mixture around. Kinda sticky and maybe not as pretty as the other, but it was yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Divine! So easy! Addicting! I love that this is a quick, kid friendly dessert for my egg-allergic son. We make these often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      Like everyone said, these are very addictive! I had to make another tray just because I kept eating from the one I was planning on giving away. I didn't use raisins or sprinkles because I didn't have any. I used bittersweet chocolate chips, chopped walnuts and the toffee bits. Tastes just like butter toffee. I can't believe that these were made using saltines! Easy to make and a big hit with everyone! Thanks for sharing Rita.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      My hubby & I just made these, and I must say, this is by far one of the easiest recipes ever! Also, it's ridiculously addictive! I'm going to have to work hard not to sneak into the freezer this week to have a piece or two! MUST.SAVE.FOR.CHRISTMAS. Thanks so much for such a great & easy treat! I'm sure they'll be a hit with our families!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Thank you for sharing this treat! I had a little problem with the crackers being a bit soggy, but I will adjust the baking time next time to about 10 min. We just used choc. chips and chopped peanuts. The kids turned their noses up at first, but couldn't resist falling in like with these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Wonderful little toffee treats. I loved how simple they are to make. Loved giving them away to family and friends last Christmas too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      5th time -- 2011 -- NOW DH wants me to make an EXTRA pan for him ! Sprayed the foil with Bakers Joy and had no sticking problems. Using colorful mini-chips and sprinkles.
      4th Christmas --2010. First thing DGD asks for her gift ! Now DH is in the act ! Forgot to spray the foil, so had to pick at it after the toffee hardened. I have to make another batch today, so will incorporate some bitter-sweet and cinnamon chips.

      I had 20 minutes before being picked up to go to dinner ! Got it ALL done, in the frig, and she ALMOST ate her appetite to nothing !! Had NO trouble with the butter/sugar boil, but it was fairly rolling boil - due to ceramic top. Hadn't read the recipe closely and missed the "mini" chips, so used regular bittersweet chips, which did not melt entirely in 5 minutes, so stuck the pan back in the warm oven for just a minute -- great melt !! Had craisins, tiny colored chips, sprinkles and a few chopped nuts. My grand children may not eat much Christmas dinner, but they will have a great time, snacking !! Thanks, Rita L

      I just had to make another batch, since NONE of my original cookies made it to Christmas !! Everyone who stopped by had to have a taste -- THEN have one "for the other hand" ! I should have bought a regular sized box of Saltines, because I think I will be making them WEEKLY for a while.
      A real winner - and fits with the KISS motto !
      Janey
      HINT !! HINT !! HINT !!
      This time I sprayed the foil with Pam Baker's Spray with flour (like bundt cake pans), and the FOIL PEELED RIGHT OFF !! No messy hands !!
      Janey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      This was good, but to me it was far too sweet, and the toppings seemed too thick to me. I followed the directions exactly, using walnuts as the chopped nuts, and semi-sweet chips. I added a bit of sprinkles on top - red and white for christmas. I might try this again, but I would use less sugar and toffee toppings, to make it less sweet. I also found that I could only fit 35 crackers in the pan. Thank you for posting this, it was fun to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      These were delicious and fairly simple to 'throw together', with ingredients I normally have on hand. My pan must have been smaller, as it only held 35 saltines, but, this recipe is very forgiving! I used finely chopped pecans and sprinkles for topping; I will add the toffee chips next time; I bet that takes them to the next level! Thanks for sharing these treats, ~Rita~ !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Yum! I used a full cup of brown sugar because I used 60% bittersweet chocolate and it needed that extra sweetness boost for the Holidays. It was still sticky when I tasted it because I couldn't wait , still yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      These were amazing!!! It was a last minute craving situation going on, so I didn't have toffee chips , but the chocolate & nuts were perfect. My only mistake is I used 12 oz. pkg of regular chocolate chips and the layer of chocolate was a bit to thick. Not that it stopped any of us from enjoying it though! Will be making again very soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Easy enough to make for a quick snack. Omitted the raisins but otherwise made as directed. Thanks for sharing Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I made these years ago and my kids loved them. When I found this recipe, I made it as an experiment for my youngest daughter and her husband. She loved them and he would get up in the middle of the night and sneak them while no one was looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I made these for Christmas baskets this year. Truly ADDICTING! I made two batches and split the chocolate chips between the two (6 oz each). It was plenty of chocolate. The first batch I topped with toffee and walnuts. The second I used walnuts and flaked coconut. I can't wait to have an excuse to whip some more of these up. Thanks so much Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Great Recipe! Simple and very delicious. I had to take mine into the office to avoid eating it all myself. This will definatley become a Christmas staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I have made this recipe many times; most recently for a candy exchange. Everyone who received the candy RAVED and asked for the recipe. I had to make sure that I packaged it up immediately or I would have eaten it all up - deliciously addicting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      The most addictive things I've ever made....and everybody loves them!! Can't make them fast enough. I top mine with chopped pecans and Heath bar toffee bits that you get in the baking section. I also stick mine in the freezer to harden. Takes about 15 minutes and it's ready to go. I find the fridge takes too long:-) I've made several batches and they've all been delish, but I might try baking the crackers a bit longer next time. Another poster mentioned them being a bit soggy. Mine weren't really, but that may be something to do with me putting them in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I made these minus the candy sprinkles and raisins. They were fantastic in my Christmas cookie baskets. Everyone liked this. It is easy to make and to enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Had a client bring these in to us at the office once, we flipped over these! She didn't add any toppings, just the chocolate coating. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making these for my family and friends soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      My mother made us a treat like this when we were little. This brings back fond memories. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Covered Saltine Crackers

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.6
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    62%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 175.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 17.5 g
    70%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    toffee pieces

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites