13 Reviews

Another winner for Kittencal!! I made these along with a lot of other cookies and candies for Chrismas and they were the first gone. My DH and DS liked them so much I've already made another batch for just us and they're almost gone too. I made them some with milk chocolate and white chocolate because that's what I had on hand and used sprinkles on some for that holiday cheer. The only change I made was to reduce the shortening a little so it was still easy to handle but didn't melt so fast in your hands (and also because I was using milk chocolate). I also found that using two chop sticks worked better for me than using tongs. Thanks Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Croft Girl January 12, 2010

Messy fun! My 9 year old daughter and I made these together. So they were easy and fun to make, while yummy and pretty -- great for the holidays! Used coconut oil instead of shortening and worked just fine. We used mini dipping sticks and found them easy to hold and manipulate. Also experimented with a few different toppings -- nonpareils, crushed peppermint candy, white chocolate. With the toppings, be sure not to put too much chocolate on, or they slide off. Ended up doing most in dark chocolate, cooling, then "painting" with melted white bark. Great holiday treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbethke December 08, 2015

Not only was this tasty but it was so easy! I used the pretzel "dipping sticks" and dipped 2/3 of the stick in the chocolate (regular Nestle tollhouse choco chips) and then added Christmas sprinkles. Another reviewer said the recipe was hard to follow but I thought it was as simple and straight-forward as it could be (yes, 8oz = 1 cup). This is my new go-to snack for all of my kids' class parties from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmwfy December 19, 2013

These were so easy to make an they turned out adorable! I did use mini pretzels.these are a nice addition to my christmas cookie tray.Thank you so much for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 December 08, 2012

Very easy! I substituted unrefined coconut oil (solid) for shortening. If I ever prepare this again I will use large pretzels only as the small ones (1 3/4" size) were more difficult to dip into the chocolate and coat. I made the mistake of adding three Baker's chocolate squares to the mixture without reading the box which read "unsweetened". The sauce turned out tasting like a strong, almost bitter chocolate which appealed to adults but not so much the under age 4 set. Completely my fault and I take full responsibility. At least my husband's co-workers will be happy today. Thank you for your help with this recipe, too, Kittencal. Reviewed for February Afternoon Tea and Light Suppers 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 11, 2010

My daughter and I made these together. I dipped and she decorated. We used Christmas sprinkles, shredded coconut and chopped nuts. These were fun to make and was a real nice treat to snack on. I did run out of space in the refrigerator though, but since I live in Vermont and it is winter, I just put some of the trays inside of my gas grill, they were cool in no time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrmomof2 January 03, 2010

semisweet chocolate was awesome, but for the life of me, I could not get the white chocolate (ghiradelli chips) to melt. I've decided to go without since they will taste delicious as are.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Zoanna December 24, 2009

I don't know what to say: I tried twice with semisweet chocolate chips and both times the chocolate wouldn't melt. The mixture was way too thick for dipping anything. I'm so disappointed as Kittenkal always has such great recipes! Should I have used some other type of chocolate?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hypatiajones December 22, 2009

The end product gets a 5, but the recipe gets a 2. I made these yesterday. First, I'm always confused about 8 oz - does that mean a cup? I didn't think it meant the baking chocolate or it would have said that? And those are 1oz each, so 8 bars? I figured it meant chips, but a package is 12 oz, so I didn't think so, so I weighed them, and 8 oz of chips are definitely more than a cup. I melted them and added the oil, but the mixture is still quite thick. I used the small pretzels (like in the photo), and dipping and tapping off the extra was very time-consuming. The recipe made 95 small pretzels. I did half with red/white/green dots, and I left half to decorate with the white chocolate. I had bought a bar of Ghiradelli white chocolate, which I melted in a double boiler. It too was very thick, and I could not for the life of me get "small strands" to drizzle. I got these big, thick, ugly lines. I tried putting it into a bag and cutting the corner, but that was also too thick, so I gave up, and I now have a lot of plane pretzels. They taste good, so that gets a 5, but I wish the directions could have been more clear.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three December 21, 2009

We use the small pretzels. We love them as they are something that even the youngest kids can help with. It has come to be a Christmas must have! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit_Kat December 20, 2009
Chocolate-Covered Pretzels