Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Covered Cranberries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Covered Cranberries

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2008

      Great fun Sharon! I had a hard time keeping daughter #3 out of these. I had been dipping other foods, and had some chocolate left so tried this, and am glad that I did. I didn't bother with the toothpick, just threw some fresh berries into the melted chocolate, then fished them out - one by one - with my dipping fork. It was easy, pretty and a fun addition to all the other sweets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      This looks like a yummy recipe. However, if I am going to stick each cranberry with a toothpick, then I'll also go a step further and do something decorative with it. For example, use skewers instead and make these the tip of a fruit bouquet, eg #149494. Or perhaps make decorative strings of the berries with needles and thread and then let kids dip and dry them on the parchment paper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I didn't have the patience to dip each cranberry so I just dumped the bag of cranberries into the melted chocolate and stirred. Then I spread the whole thing out on wax paper to set. Finally, I broke it up into pieces. That worked pretty good. They weren't a pretty as the photographs, but they tasted good. I added them to my cookie trays. They were tasty...a nice alternative to the standard Christmas candy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      These were very tasty little bite size treats. I had a little problem with my chocolate seizing though. I tried to make sure my pan was dry but the chocolate in my first batch seized up. I tried again with more chocolate and a different pan. after about 5 berries it began to seize again. I think maybe because I used cranberries that were previously frozen? or maybe because the cranberries dripped a bit of juice from the skewer piercing? I dumped the rest of my berries into the semi-solid chocolate all at one and rolled them around a bit and then dumped them on wax paper and separated them with the skewers. The results were both tart and sweet and the berries occasionally burst in your mouth as you bite down which is fun! However, they look nothing like the berries Redsie made ;) If I find some more berries, I'd be willing to give this another try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      These are tasty little treats. I love the combination of the tart and the sweet together. I am not very good with chocolate (among other sweets) and let the it get too cool, and then it wouldn't re-melt. So I only ended up with a few tasty morsels. That's my fault and not the recipe's though. We loved the ones we did have and they were gobbled up quickly. Thanks for posting this festive and fun treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      This was my first time eating a fresh cranberry (I usually have them baked!!) - and I loved the mix of the fresh tart cranberry with the chocolate!!! this was easy to prepare and oh so good!! Thanks Sharon! :) Made for 123 Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I omitted the shortening in this recipe. Having dipped strawberries in a similar recipe before, I found the shortening just makes it so the chocolate doesn't harden as much, which was not what I wanted. The melted chips worked just fine. I loved this - the milk chocolate sweetens up the tart berries just right in my opinion. Unfortunately, my boyfriend (who doesn't like tart at all) hated it, so I can only give 4 stars. It's a keeper for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      I had fun with this recipe. It started with the cranberries, which were very good. Nice pop under all that chocolate.(I used frozen cranberries, and that worked fine) I also wanted to dip some other things, strawberries, walnuts and peanuts. Fun and good chocolate snacks were had by all! Thank you Sharon 123.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2014

      I make these often for Christmas. However, I do not pierce them with a toothpick. This causes a leak in the berry. I also dip them a few weeks ahead of when I want them. I put them in a container and store them in the back of the refrigerator. This way they are left alone. The time allows them to start fermenting. This, to me is what really makes them taste good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      For a different taste and look try this with white chocolate instead. It's such an easy thing to do and everyone loves them. The sweet and tart taste is a winner everytime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      Yummy! I love the bursts!!! I used carob chips and a bit of sweet butter. Fun. Made for Veggie Swap 30 ~ January 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      So easy and delicious! The tart cranberries and milk chocolate go so well together. As another reviewer mentioned, this is also a great addition when already dipping - they are perfect for getting up the last bits of chocolate! Thanks for sharing! Veg*n Swap 30

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Enjoyable. I was too pressed for time to dip each cranberry, so I melted the chocolate ( I used dark chocolate and omitted the shortening) and tossed all the cranberries in at once, stirring to coat. Then dumped them on wax paper to dry. This process left too little chocolate per cranberry so if I make these again I'll double the chocolate amount and put in a pan with sides (maybe an 8x8) stir until everything is coated, let dry in the pan, then break apart into small "bars". Of course, I kept these in the fridge - both to dry and for storage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I'm sorry. I had such high hopes after reading the reviews but
      we just couldn't get past the tartness of the cranberries.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      WOW. WOW. WOW. I discovered this right before Christmas this past year and have made them SO many times since then. And I have to say... they were a hit with everyone I gave them to, even people who didn't expect to like them. They're wonderful- the sweetness of the chocolate (and I actually just used semi-sweet) totally counters the sourness of the cranberries. And it's lovely how they feel like they burst in your mouth as you bite into them. Totally a new favorite!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      These were very good. Anyone who loves cranberries should try these. The sweet chocolate along with the tartness of the berry works well. Then again, the soft bite of the chocolate and then the snappy pop of the cranberry is a nice contrast, too :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2014

      How long do they keep and should the be kept cold until you service them?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Covered Cranberries

    Serving Size: 1 (724 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1474.0
     
    Calories from Fat 761
    51%
    Total Fat 84.6 g
    130%
    Saturated Fat 46.2 g
    231%
    Cholesterol 52.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 183.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 163.8 g
    54%
    Dietary Fiber 18.6 g
    74%
    Sugars 126.4 g
    505%
    Protein 18.2 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes