17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great fun Sharon! I had a hard time keeping daughter #3 out of these. I had been dipping other foods, and had some chocolate left so tried this, and am glad that I did. I didn't bother with the toothpick, just threw some fresh berries into the melted chocolate, then fished them out - one by one - with my dipping fork. It was easy, pretty and a fun addition to all the other sweets.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Edlear December 22, 2008

I had fun with this recipe. It started with the cranberries, which were very good. Nice pop under all that chocolate.(I used frozen cranberries, and that worked fine) I also wanted to dip some other things, strawberries, walnuts and peanuts. Fun and good chocolate snacks were had by all! Thank you Sharon 123.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 January 23, 2006

This looks like a yummy recipe. However, if I am going to stick each cranberry with a toothpick, then I'll also go a step further and do something decorative with it. For example, use skewers instead and make these the tip of a fruit bouquet, eg #149494. Or perhaps make decorative strings of the berries with needles and thread and then let kids dip and dry them on the parchment paper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamarinda September 30, 2010

I didn't have the patience to dip each cranberry so I just dumped the bag of cranberries into the melted chocolate and stirred. Then I spread the whole thing out on wax paper to set. Finally, I broke it up into pieces. That worked pretty good. They weren't a pretty as the photographs, but they tasted good. I added them to my cookie trays. They were tasty...a nice alternative to the standard Christmas candy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmmd December 24, 2008

These were very tasty little bite size treats. I had a little problem with my chocolate seizing though. I tried to make sure my pan was dry but the chocolate in my first batch seized up. I tried again with more chocolate and a different pan. after about 5 berries it began to seize again. I think maybe because I used cranberries that were previously frozen? or maybe because the cranberries dripped a bit of juice from the skewer piercing? I dumped the rest of my berries into the semi-solid chocolate all at one and rolled them around a bit and then dumped them on wax paper and separated them with the skewers. The results were both tart and sweet and the berries occasionally burst in your mouth as you bite down which is fun! However, they look nothing like the berries Redsie made ;) If I find some more berries, I'd be willing to give this another try.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog December 20, 2008

These are tasty little treats. I love the combination of the tart and the sweet together. I am not very good with chocolate (among other sweets) and let the it get too cool, and then it wouldn't re-melt. So I only ended up with a few tasty morsels. That's my fault and not the recipe's though. We loved the ones we did have and they were gobbled up quickly. Thanks for posting this festive and fun treat!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker November 28, 2008

This was my first time eating a fresh cranberry (I usually have them baked!!) - and I loved the mix of the fresh tart cranberry with the chocolate!!! this was easy to prepare and oh so good!! Thanks Sharon! :) Made for 123 Tag

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie December 25, 2007

I omitted the shortening in this recipe. Having dipped strawberries in a similar recipe before, I found the shortening just makes it so the chocolate doesn't harden as much, which was not what I wanted. The melted chips worked just fine. I loved this - the milk chocolate sweetens up the tart berries just right in my opinion. Unfortunately, my boyfriend (who doesn't like tart at all) hated it, so I can only give 4 stars. It's a keeper for me!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Digigirl November 16, 2006

I make these often for Christmas. However, I do not pierce them with a toothpick. This causes a leak in the berry. I also dip them a few weeks ahead of when I want them. I put them in a container and store them in the back of the refrigerator. This way they are left alone. The time allows them to start fermenting. This, to me is what really makes them taste good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllTexas December 05, 2014

For a different taste and look try this with white chocolate instead. It's such an easy thing to do and everyone loves them. The sweet and tart taste is a winner everytime.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athomenow December 06, 2012
Chocolate Covered Cranberries