13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

haven't eaten them yet... Only got 24 cookies even using small cherries... I was using dark chocolate chips and cocoa..... my "frosting" sort of stayed as a glop on top of the cookies.. I'll modify that part of the plan next time... Nora

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora December 09, 2013

These are really good. I used dark cocoa powder and drizzled white chocolate over the tops after they cooled, and they looked beautiful. For a quick recipe, these look like you spend a lot of time on them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar Fairy December 24, 2011

I make these as a Christmas Gift for one of my chocoholics friends. She said they were to die for good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeaneckman21_12255443 October 09, 2011

Excellent cookie- taste just like the real thing! I saw another reader had trouble with them sticking to the baking sheet- use parchment paper (not wax paper) and you'll never have another stuck cookie again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chubbyrunner December 16, 2010

Excellent cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaMarieCooking December 29, 2009

wow! Very yummy:) If you like alot of chocolate, these are for you:) I too wrapped my dough around the cherry, it seemed to work, the only thing different was it only made 35 cookies, but that was ok! I also put 1 tablespoon of cherry juice in the cookie dough and I put a semi-sweet chip inside each cherry and then rolled it in the cookie! And for the icing, I dipped half the cookie in it, instead of putting the icing on top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurieL. December 12, 2009

These were always on Mom's Christmas tray. We love them! For the topping, Mom uses 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and only 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons cherry juice. Also, she just pushes the cherries halfway into the balls of dough without flattening them first. I think this prevents them from spreading out much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctrmom December 01, 2009

I had these at my mother-in-law's over the holidays! They were wonderful! She got the recipe out of a cookbook but it referenced BH&G! Thanks for posting so I won't lose the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marguerite214 December 27, 2008

My family and I truly love these wonderful cookies. Nothing negative to say at all. Hope everyone will try these. Honestly one of the best cookies we have ever eaten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaderBee December 15, 2008

5 stars for taste. These are wonderful!! Presentation, not sure what they were supposed to look like, but I found I couldn't get them off the cookie sheet in one piece unless it was one of the very first ones off the sheet. I tried letting them cool too , that didn't work any better. I think I'll try the reviewer that shapes her dough around the cherry. I think that might make a huge difference! Thanks so much for posting and I'm so sorry if this isn't what they're supposed to look like!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. December 24, 2007
Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies