Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Covered Apricots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Covered Apricots

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2014

      Making these the same way except I never added the shortening. Next time I'll try the shortening to see the difference, thanks! update: made it with the shortening for chocolate covered strawberries- it made more liquid and worked great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This is such a wonderful recipe to take anywhere. Nutritious and delicious. .. (not to mention- EASY).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      These are amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Easy to make and easy to eat too! I love dried apricots and this was the icing on the cake! I didn't have shortening so used margarine, so they didn't turn out nice and glossy the way they are supposed to. I highly recommend using the shortening!Thanks Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I must have forgotten to rate this recipe... I took it to friends where we having Christmas lunch. They were really good, not too sweet and just a nice change from all the heavy Christmas puddings. So easy to make and would be great on a cheese platter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I used apricots from Nutonline, which has the best dried fruit in the world. Also comes in a special pouch that allows you to add a little moisture if you need to. I have used lots of dried fruit before,but the ones from Nutsonline are truly superior. Their nuts and seeds are also excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I have to try this. It's like something I've tried in the past. Can I get the link to the log you spoke of for the yummy photos?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Fabulous! And so easy. They looked beautiful and tasted so good that I couldn't wait for them to set before sampling. I bought Sunshine dried apricots which were plump, moist and sweet. At the same time, I purchased a bag of Archer Farms dried apricots which were tough and dry. What a difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      My Dad loves these. In fact everbody does in my family, but Dad gets a tin of these and a bunch of fudge almost every year as a present. He really likes good food and has always been spoiled by Mom and Grandma (both GREAT cooks). When I make these my husband has been known to get the experimental bug and start trying other dried fruit....as he puts it chocolate makes evrything taste good. Smaller fruits don't look as pretty, but they do taste good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Easy and elegant! Now that dark chocolate is supposed to be healthy, I am using it more. I mixed some bittersweet with semi-sweet. The sweetness of the apricots balanced it well. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      These are sooo good and extremely easy. Thanks for such a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      I always add chocolate dipped apricots to my holiday cookie platters. They are a favorite with their tart/sweet flavor combo. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      Oh yummy! These looked so dainty on the platter! The chocolate worked out great. I used some chocolate I bought at the bulk store. I think it was milk chocolate... not sure. It was in big chunks and the colour looked right! I was shopping with my kids so no time was wasted looking at labels! lol I have to make these again for my Mom, she loves apricots! Thanks Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      Can hardly believe I messed up a "beginner cook" recipe, but it seems I did somehow, by doubling the recipe. Fortunately I had more chips left, so I tried again without doubling it and with a great deal more success. I really loved the way these tasted too, so I have to give the recipe 5 stars. When I doubled the recipe I assumed it would take the chocolate more time to melt so I repeated the 30 minute interval time a few too many times. What happened was that the chocolate became dry (and somehow fluffy), so it didn't stick well to the apricots. When I tried again with 1/2 cup (repeating the 30 second cooking interval only twice), the chocolate stuck to the apricots perfectly well, albeit a bit thickly. As a result, a half cup of chips was only enough for about 15 apricots (which probably made it taste better!). My coworkers and I thank you, Kathy as I made it for our 2005 pre-Christmas food binge at work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      Quick, easy and tasty, what more could you ask for? Will be a great addition for Holiday gift baskets. Thanks Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      Try these with white chocolate. My grandma's bunco friends fight over them when she makes them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      Incredibly simple and tasty. I made these for a gathering and everyone loved them! At first I didn't add the shortening but after 1 or 2 apricots I realized that the chocolate was too thick and clumpy on the fruit. I added a little shortening and it thinned out enough so that the fruit was nicely coated. In my microwave I know it takes 2 minutes to get the chips hot enough to melt so I didn't do the intervals. When I finished the apricots I dipped strawberries, dried apple rings and dried pineapple chunks. Everyone loved the fruit. Thanks for sharing the secret.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Covered Apricots

    Serving Size: 1 (10 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 34.0
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    34%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites