Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Covered Ants Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Covered Ants

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2002

      Mirjam...I keep wondering how many people (like Al there) aren't quite sure if this is for real or not *LOL Hey, if anyone needs ants...come to TX, we have those "BIG OLE" Fire Ants! (yuck!!!) Thanks for the chuckle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2002

      Thanks for making me laugh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      Hey everybody, chocolate-covered Ants are very good...they taste like chocolate-covered raisins! I wouldn't have the patience to clean 'em, but remember the chocolate-covered raisin bit the next time you're at the concession stand at the movies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      When I was younger I remember that chocolate covered ants and bees were quite the craze. My daring mother bought some ants and I'll never forget watching her eat them and trying (unsuccesfully)to get me to eat some, too. 35 years (or so) later I still can see her clear as day standing at the counter 'crunching' those things.;o

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      Imaginative and Hilarious, thank you Mirjam! "(Unhappy ants are liable to go sour before processing.)" I don't know where or how you got this, but this is GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2002

      Rated 5-star for the humor! I have an abundance of fire ants here. I wonder if that would make this dish "hot and spicy"?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      It's a sick world and we are all happy people!!! LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      Mirg, thank you for posting this wonderful recipe. Combining the carnivore course with the desert course saves time time. That's EATING time, not preperation time. But the delicious chocolaty crunch makes the prep time worthwhile. Be sure to count the ants carefully to maintain the correct ant/chocolate balance. I followed your advice and left the entrails in. Not only did it save time, it enriched the dish and made it more healthful with the added protein. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and a half cup of outrageously expensive rasberry liqueur which I think added depth of flavor. Next time I think I'll try Godiva dark chocolate liqueur with a dash of cinnamon. I'm also considering adapting this recipe to take advantage of Minnesota's abundance of our natural resource of mosquitoes, our state bird. They're big enough to mate with helicopters, so the prep time should be shorter as not as many will be needed. Hunting Minnesota's mosquitoes can be dangerous as they are quite aggresive, which makes them highly expensive. I haven't found an economical source for culinary mosquitoes. But the expense would be worthwhile for such an exceptional treat. When I make this recipe with mosquitoes, I think I'll add a quart of vodka to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2003

      I needed a good laugh today. Long day at work.I live in Canada so you can just keep your fire ants. I have heard they are quite bad. lol. I think we need a good joke in our lives now a days. Well thanks for the laugh. Bye for now

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      Actually North Australian green ants are quite yummy - they taste like lemon. You pick them up and just bite their backsides off LOL. A bit of chocolate however wouldn't hurt - white chocolate?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      When I think of how much money Texas A&M University has spent in research trying to get rid of these dreaded Fire Ants we have here in Texas......I am sending them this recipe. Thanks Mirjam, you may have just solved our problem!! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      LOL this is very funny...SMILES big time...You have everyone just a laughing....Thank You very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2002

      WAHAHAHAHAHAHA!! This is hilarious! I'm printing this and posting in on my fridge. If my kids don'e behave, this is going to be dessert! LOL! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      5 Stars for 5 times as gross

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      Did you get this from FC?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      I think this one was distatseful! (no pun intended) YUCK!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      wait, i'm not too certain about this one. i really feel you must be... joking?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Be sure that the chocolate isn't too hot or the ants will be soggy instead of crunchy. Soggy ants are the pits. Jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Whow, did you guys see how long it takes to prepare the poor suckers. Good laugh on a Thursday, wish it was Friday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      I am much more lucky than most. At my house the ants deliver themselves to the back door each summer. I'll just make sure that I have he chocolate ready next time. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Covered Ants

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.0
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    93%
    Total Fat 25.8 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ants

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes