15 Reviews

Delish! My new favorite. I made mine with crisco rather than butter. When they cooled they were firm on the outside and soft of the inside just like I like them. I love that they are not too sweet. I made them plain, but you could certainly play with these be adding all sorts of stuff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paintridinchik_11787949 February 20, 2012

These were pretty good for such a simple recipe. I say simple but it's easy to goof these up. When done right they are thin cookies that are slightly crisp on the outside and soft and almost gooey in the middle. I cooked mine for 10 minutes but my oven's bottom element isn't exposed so you may want to vary the time depending on your oven.

A few tips for baking these cookies:

1. Sift the ingredients. The brown sugar with the granulated sugar and salt and the flour with the cocoa powder and baking soda.
2. Cream the butter with the sugars well before mixing in the egg.
3. Make sure you don't make them too big, about half the size of a golfball, and leave plenty of room between them (about 2 inches). These cookies spread out quite a bit and are thin when done right.
4. Don't overbake them. Remember, if the cookies look done when you take them out of the oven then it means that you have probably burned them. Fan them for about 30 seconds and then try to move them to the cooling rack quickly. You may want to fan them a little more if it's too hard to transfer them cleanly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mendrys October 16, 2011

I don't know what I did wrong, but when my cookies came out of the oven, they were very thin and flat. I expected this from how thin the batter was compared to other cookies I have made in the past. But having that said, the cookies were very delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 23, 2015

Besides the fact that I cut the recipe in half, I pretty much followed most of the instructions . The overall result was ok but definitely not the best. The texture of the dough was troubling seeing as how mine was very loose (almost like a moose consistency) so I added more flour to thicken. I also added a bit more chocolate because I like my cookies dark and lovely :) and chocolatey. After all that the texture was kind of rubber like ..very interesting. I kept mine in the oven for about 9 minutes and ate them hot with ice cream (it was good). The texture of the end cookie was gooey/soft in the middle and a little crunchier on the bottom. There was a slight powdery taste to it though. These cookies are good enough but there are definitely better recipes out there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imani.childress.ae March 31, 2015

I seem to always have success with recipes from the Hershey company. These cookies were also successful. I had a few ounces of leftover semi sweet chocolate chips so I added those to the batter. These are a very good tasting chocolate cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 06, 2014

This recipe is delicious! It's just sweet enough, and surprisingly chocolate-y. I make this all the time whenever I need quick delicious cookies and I don't have a ton of ingredients

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sofi H. June 30, 2014

Like some of the other reviewers on this one, I creamed my butter and sugars before adding the egg, then sifted in the baking soda, flour, and cocoa. The dough was thick but sticky - definitely not easy to just "drop" onto the baking sheet - so I refrigerated it for about half an hour. I really had a craving for powdered sugar-coated chocolate crinkles, though, so I rolled the dough into balls and rolled those in powdered sugar before baking. I also halved the recipe since our household is only 3 people, and the yield still came out to nearly 3 dozen.<br/><br/>I baked my cookies for 7 minutes, since they'd started to look incredibly flat at that point in the process, cooled them for about 3 minutes on the cookie sheet, then transferred them to a cooling rack. They *do* spread out a lot - I rolled mine into 1" balls and they spread into about 2.5" diameter cookies.<br/><br/>The end result was sort of like eating the edges of a brownie: chewy, chocolaty, and not too crumbly. I'll definitely be making these again, especially since all the ingredients are things I usually have in my cupboards, without needing to make a special trip for chocolate chips or baking chocolate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
findingbeauty May 18, 2014

Needed a cookie recipe that matched ingredients I had on hand. Also this recipe was added on my birthday so I was predestined I try it. I whisked the coco, flour, soda, and salt together then sifted into the wet ingredients as another reviewer recommended. I don't know about sifting brown & white sugar, that gums up my sifter. Most brown sugar is white with molasses added back anyway so I just blended till uniform before creaming with butter (long before adding the eggs also as other reviewer recommended.) I got the exact stated yield of (2", 3 bite) cookies using my cookie scooper and dividing the scoop in half. Chilled the dough an hour to make it easier to work with. Baked on a 14 x 16 air bake pan, 20 dough balls fit without touching when baked shortening backing time. Cookies came out chewy following the recipe time & temp. Left cookies 2 min on the pan, no burning. Still chewy an hour later, don't know about overnight (they may not last.) My wife thought they weren't overly sweet (like the chocolate crinkles I tried previously using old bakers chocolate squares I wanted to use up.) I don't know how to keep cookies lofty, these came out of the oven 1/2" thick and flattened to 1/4" while cooling so I used for sandwich cookies with orange frosting/filling. The "time to make" is off significantly but the recipe (w/ reviewer recommendations) is a keeper based on ingredients, taste and ease. I Rated 5 stars to help bring up the average unjustly lowered by the two, 1-star home ec drop outs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corwithjt March 22, 2014

This is a wonderful cookie! It's not too sweet and very simple to make. I plan to make some more and add nuts or flavored chips. If you make sure to use plain flour and not self rising flour, your cookies should come out perfect every time. I dropped a dollop about the size of a cherry tomato on parchment paper and baked for exactly 8 minutes. These are my new go to chocolate cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeffreysGirl January 29, 2013

Reminded me of Cocoa Puff Cereal. This would also be good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I halved the whole recipe since it was just myself and managed to get almost 2 dozen out of them. Oreo also comes to mind too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missdrd23 May 19, 2012
Chocolate Cookies W/Hershey's Cocoa Powder