Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cookies W/Hershey's Cocoa Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cookies W/Hershey's Cocoa Powder

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2012

      Delish! My new favorite. I made mine with crisco rather than butter. When they cooled they were firm on the outside and soft of the inside just like I like them. I love that they are not too sweet. I made them plain, but you could certainly play with these be adding all sorts of stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      These were pretty good for such a simple recipe. I say simple but it's easy to goof these up. When done right they are thin cookies that are slightly crisp on the outside and soft and almost gooey in the middle. I cooked mine for 10 minutes but my oven's bottom element isn't exposed so you may want to vary the time depending on your oven.

      A few tips for baking these cookies:

      1. Sift the ingredients. The brown sugar with the granulated sugar and salt and the flour with the cocoa powder and baking soda.
      2. Cream the butter with the sugars well before mixing in the egg.
      3. Make sure you don't make them too big, about half the size of a golfball, and leave plenty of room between them (about 2 inches). These cookies spread out quite a bit and are thin when done right.
      4. Don't overbake them. Remember, if the cookies look done when you take them out of the oven then it means that you have probably burned them. Fan them for about 30 seconds and then try to move them to the cooling rack quickly. You may want to fan them a little more if it's too hard to transfer them cleanly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      I seem to always have success with recipes from the Hershey company. These cookies were also successful. I had a few ounces of leftover semi sweet chocolate chips so I added those to the batter. These are a very good tasting chocolate cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      This recipe is delicious! It's just sweet enough, and surprisingly chocolate-y. I make this all the time whenever I need quick delicious cookies and I don't have a ton of ingredients

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      Like some of the other reviewers on this one, I creamed my butter and sugars before adding the egg, then sifted in the baking soda, flour, and cocoa. The dough was thick but sticky - definitely not easy to just "drop" onto the baking sheet - so I refrigerated it for about half an hour. I really had a craving for powdered sugar-coated chocolate crinkles, though, so I rolled the dough into balls and rolled those in powdered sugar before baking. I also halved the recipe since our household is only 3 people, and the yield still came out to nearly 3 dozen.<br/><br/>I baked my cookies for 7 minutes, since they'd started to look incredibly flat at that point in the process, cooled them for about 3 minutes on the cookie sheet, then transferred them to a cooling rack. They *do* spread out a lot - I rolled mine into 1" balls and they spread into about 2.5" diameter cookies.<br/><br/>The end result was sort of like eating the edges of a brownie: chewy, chocolaty, and not too crumbly. I'll definitely be making these again, especially since all the ingredients are things I usually have in my cupboards, without needing to make a special trip for chocolate chips or baking chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      Needed a cookie recipe that matched ingredients I had on hand. Also this recipe was added on my birthday so I was predestined I try it. I whisked the coco, flour, soda, and salt together then sifted into the wet ingredients as another reviewer recommended. I don't know about sifting brown & white sugar, that gums up my sifter. Most brown sugar is white with molasses added back anyway so I just blended till uniform before creaming with butter (long before adding the eggs also as other reviewer recommended.) I got the exact stated yield of (2", 3 bite) cookies using my cookie scooper and dividing the scoop in half. Chilled the dough an hour to make it easier to work with. Baked on a 14 x 16 air bake pan, 20 dough balls fit without touching when baked shortening backing time. Cookies came out chewy following the recipe time & temp. Left cookies 2 min on the pan, no burning. Still chewy an hour later, don't know about overnight (they may not last.) My wife thought they weren't overly sweet (like the chocolate crinkles I tried previously using old bakers chocolate squares I wanted to use up.) I don't know how to keep cookies lofty, these came out of the oven 1/2" thick and flattened to 1/4" while cooling so I used for sandwich cookies with orange frosting/filling. The "time to make" is off significantly but the recipe (w/ reviewer recommendations) is a keeper based on ingredients, taste and ease. I Rated 5 stars to help bring up the average unjustly lowered by the two, 1-star home ec drop outs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      This is a wonderful cookie! It's not too sweet and very simple to make. I plan to make some more and add nuts or flavored chips. If you make sure to use plain flour and not self rising flour, your cookies should come out perfect every time. I dropped a dollop about the size of a cherry tomato on parchment paper and baked for exactly 8 minutes. These are my new go to chocolate cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      Reminded me of Cocoa Puff Cereal. This would also be good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I halved the whole recipe since it was just myself and managed to get almost 2 dozen out of them. Oreo also comes to mind too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      I scaled down the recipe (only baking for me and my hubby) I used the conversion on here for like 2 doz and then just kind of worked my way from that. They came out DELICIOUS! I'm pregnant and picky and these totally hit the spot! They don't need anything added to them, maybe a little less vanilla extract but other than that they are perfect! LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      I followed the recipe and they turned out like little cakes and tasted horrible! I had to throw them out and I wasted my money!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      these cookies melted all over my oven, when my sister made them. she did everything right, but instead of cookies, they turned into cake like circles :P they were NOT worth the ingredients that were put into them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Delicious, soft, chewy, chocolatey; definitely love at first bite. These remind me of some decadent cookies I used to splurge on when I was in college from Bernice's Bakery in Missoula, MT. that I believe were called "Mocha Chocolate Chip". I made the recipe as is & my chocolate craving was met head-on with delight, but would not hesitate to add chocolate chips next time to really put myself into the bliss of a true chocolate coma! I found that 8 minutes was the perfect time to bake these, but watch out; a moment longer & they brown on the bottom very quickly and the result could mean burning, slightly spoiling the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Really good..soft and yummy! These are hubby's favorite. I added Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cookies W/Hershey's Cocoa Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (998 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 853.1
     
    Calories from Fat 360
    42%
    Total Fat 40.0 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 24.0 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 172.0 mg
    57%
    Sodium 847.6 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 115.7 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 72.3 g
    289%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites