Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Coconut Mounds Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Coconut Mounds Cake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2003

      This cake is sinfully rich and delicious!!! It is not difficult to make and the filling and frosting do remind you of a Mounds bar. Definitely on my keeper list! Thanks, Marie, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      This recipe deserves 10 stars! I made this today for my mom's birthday cake so it didn't get the overnight chilling, but it was fine with 6 hours in the fridge. It was a HUGE hit!!! Three of the men had seconds and I caught my sister eating the pieces that had broken off in the pan. It was absolutely amazing....moist, and so like a mounds bar! Not for calorie counters for sure, but go ahead...you only live once! Thanks for our new favourite dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      This was delicious. I made it for my mother-in-law's birthday because this is her favorite kind of cake. She said it was much better then the ones she had gotten at the local bakery in past years. I used a Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix. I would definitely use a wooden spoon handle to poke holes all over the cake so that the toppings can get down in the cake more, but still a great recipe! Thank you for sharing:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      I made this to have for our 3rd anniversary yesterday. Hubby loves chocolate and coconut so this was perfect for him. We both loved it! I only had 7oz of coconut so my filling was a little thin but it was still fantastic. Thanks for this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      I made this for my son's 6th birthday and other than baking my own chocolate cake first I followed the recipe exactly. It turned out really yummy...dense and decadent. I did have a little trouble with the some of the syrupy filling running down into the cake pan after some pieces had been removed. But this could be because during the cooking stage, I had to remove it from the stove just before it came to a boil as it grew SO much and was threatening to overflow onto the stove. Moral of the storey - use the biggest saucepan you own!!! I will make this again for sure! Oh, and I may cut back on the frosting by 1/4-1/3 as it really made a ton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      When it came time to make the filling I didn't have marshmallows so I used a jar of marshmallow creme - worked great. Everyone loved it - next time some almond halves may be added. Thanks Marie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I don't use cake mix so I made a plain chocolate torte base. A hit with the whole family and I don't even like coconut! Not difficult to make but certainly very impressive (and visually appealing too, great for hosting).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      This cake is amazing. My dad does not like coconut but loved this. I will certainly make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      I made this for my Momma-In-Law for her birthday this weekend. She absolutely loved it. Very very rich though, DH & Dad-in-Law liked it very much too! It was a big hit! Easy to prepare too. I was unclear if the frosting should be poured on the cake while both were warm. I emailed Ms. Marie to find out and you do pour the frosting on while both the cake and frosting are warm, it makes a thick, rich chocolate icing. Yum Yum! Thank you for this great cake Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      I made this cake for a family holiday. I was told it was delicious, but very rich. Next time, I would use less coconut, I felt it was alittle overpowering. The chocolate icing on top was nice and thick, which reminded me of the icing on top of an Entermann's cake. I would make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Just wonderful. I'll be sharing this recipe for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Coconut Mounds Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 857.9
     
    Calories from Fat 473
    55%
    Total Fat 52.5 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 32.1 g
    160%
    Cholesterol 71.1 mg
    23%
    Sodium 476.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.3 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 73.5 g
    294%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites