37 Reviews

Thank you, I have been searching for this. Have a friend that insisted on a chocolate bundt cake for her birthday. Made her day:)

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ May 13, 2002

Thank you. I made this cake for a coffee party and it was a hit with everyone. I used a chocolate glaze which was also well liked. It was very easy and quick to make. The chocolate cake is nicely moist.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda McCrae November 22, 2002

I loved the coconut center and it does taste like a "Mounds" chocolate bar. I did have a problem with getting the egg whites to form stiff peaks so one little suggestion would be to change the directions to say "mix the egg whites in a GLASS bowl". When the egg whites would not firm up I went to Community Cafe to ask why and the helpful chefs there figured that it was my plastic bowl that was preventing the whites from becoming stiff. So I tried again using a glass bowl and voila, beautiful peaked egg whites. Who would've thought? You have to love the Chefs on Zaar, they are so willing to help! Thx for a great recipe Dee I will make this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 08, 2009

WOW! Unbelievable. This was fantastic. I would suggest checking after 40 minutes as it was done at that time in my oven. The first bite brought back memories of my childhood. I'm so happy to have found this recipe. With so many chocolate cakes out there I wasn't sure what to use. I decided on a chocolate fudge...EXCELLENT choice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smohs November 11, 2010

When I was a child, my mom used to buy a boxed bundt cake mix. It was a family favorite. I looked for the recipe for years and could never find the perfect one. This is it. I have made this several times with rave reviews. I shared it with my older brother recently and it was like going back in time. I will be sharing it with that same brother and my mom and I can't wait to see the smiles!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ljstrausser September 10, 2009

Oh, my, YES, Dee! A chocoholic's dream! I made it as written except for adding 1/2 tsp. coconut extract to the filling and 1 Tbsp. Hershey's special dark cocoa to the batter. I also drizzled dark chocolate icing over the cooled cake and sprinkled on more coconut.Absolutely fabulous, got rave reviews from everyone. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stillcookin September 01, 2009

This is definately a keeper..made it the first time by the directions, second time I added almond pieces to the filling. DH is in heaven as almond joy and mounds are his favorite candy bars....thanks for a great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrannieJ May 16, 2007

such a moist and wonderful cake. I added a chcolate glaze with coconut for the topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margfleck January 18, 2004

It's easy to make, comes out of the pan very nicely, is moist and not too sweet. Also looks very pretty! Would make a nice gift.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinderetta2002 July 16, 2003

I used a chocolate fudge box cake mix, we all thought to dry. If make again would double the oil to make moister. It doesn't say unsweetened or sweetened coconut, did half and half. I think it should be sweetened to make filling gooey texture. I put coconut extract in filling as others suggested, it help. Also put it in the glaze and sprinkled coconut on top. I baked mine the least amount of time stated. Hope this helps!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lburtyk March 27, 2016
Chocolate Coconut Bundt Cake