10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My sisters and I have been trying to find a recipe our mom called Chocolate water cake. This was very close to it and I am sure I am on the right line to finding a wonderful memory. This recipe was a little lighter and sweeter than I remember moms being but I really do appreciate the recipe and I will be looking and trying others. I remember mom being more like a brownie texture with the pudding beneath. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 June 14, 2008

I have made this a few times now, and it's great! So good with vanilla ice cream! I have had my 10 year old make it, and my 8 year old help. They feel so proud being responsible for dessert, and this is a good one to try. Supervision needed with the boiling water, but great for learning measurements and directions. We have "sauce and cake" pre packaged at the store, but this is so much better. I do omit the nuts. (kids don't like 'em.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikeandtiah'smom October 07, 2007

This was good, but (it almost hurts me to say this!) it was almost too chocolatey for me! Maybe it's because I was greedy and had a big bowl. Definitely serve with vanilla ice cream. It helps to cut the chocolate. If you are really craving chocolate, than this may just be the perfect recipe for you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy July 27, 2007

I have made this same recipe minus the pecans. It is well-liked in this household. It is simple to make and tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV March 05, 2007

This is great and so easy to make! I loved it and so did my husband! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa May 16, 2005

Good recipe! You already have everything you need to make it in the house! I used sliced almonds. Makes a lot and super cheap to boot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha September 05, 2004

Pretty good...I was like a chocolate cake on top and a chocolate pudding sauce on the bottom. I didnt add the nuts, but I did top it with yummy vanilla ice cream..Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI August 03, 2004

What a great chocolate treat. It was easy to make from ingredients I had on hand. My family really enjoyed it. We will make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianne in the Village August 01, 2004

Oh boy! I hovered between 4 & 5 stars but hubby tipped the scales to 5. I didn't add pecans to this as I didn't have any on hand when this recipe stumbled across me today (thanks Bev!!) Not only was it wonderfully sinful but it was so freaking cheap to make. And I had everything (except pecans) here to make it. In a word...YUMMY!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daggersmommy July 28, 2004

Sinful, chocolatey, rich!This was just like the chocolate fudge pudding cake that we get in a local restaurant and oh so easy! I wanted to hide in my room with the whole pan and not come out til it was gone! All I added was 1/2 tsp salt to step 2 and step 5. I will make this again as soon as the pan is empty!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev in NY July 27, 2004
Chocolate Cobbler