Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cobbler Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cobbler

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2010

      I too have been making this recipe for years and it was always a favourite. It is so simple to throw together and makes a lovely sauce. Add a little vanilla ice cream and this is a chocolate lovers paradise!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I've made this twice now. The first time I made only half to test the recipe with BF, brother, and me we all enjoyed it very much. The second time I made it for Thanksgiving dinner. I added a little vanilla and served with vanilla bean ice cream and it was a hit. Thanks so much, will definitely be making this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      It didn't look pretty at all. And the flavor was only entertaining because I'd read other reviews and added cinnamon & nutmeg for extra flavor. First serving was ok. Reheated--hard to swallow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2012

      I have been making a recipe similar to this for years. One of my best memories is watching a college student who was majoring in engineering sit on my kitchen floor in front of my oven and watch this bake. It is so cool when the cake layer starts to rise to the top and the sauce sinks to the bottom. I think that I read somewhere ( not sure where) that this happens because the specific density of the cake layer changes as it bakes making it lighter than the specific density of the sauce. I could be wrong about that, but what a great kitchen science lesson that tastes incredible!! And I love the looks that people give me when I pour the water over the top. Entertaining and delicious - you can't beat that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      This didn't do it for me at all. Like another rating indicated, it lacked something. I think it needed butter or more milk. I would say it was better after it completely cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      I let my 11 y/o DD make this and it was wonderful ate with some ice cream (vanilla low fat from the store). I love that the ingredients are a staple in most kitchens. this is an amazing transformation! I wish i knew how it worked. This is a definate keeper and I think I will be baking more often now. Hope you like the photos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      I haven't tried this, but I plan to make it in a few weeks with a homemade peppermint ice cream. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This made everyone very happy when it was dessert time. I would have preferred something more chocolatey - I might try using a different cocoa next time to see what the results would be. The sauce was very nice, great with some vanilla ice cream. The texture was light, more cake like than brownie like, but we all enjoyed this. Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This is great recipe. I only serve it with ice cream when the grandchildren are here; however, with the chocolate sauce it is yummy plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      mmm! so nice! thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Yummy! I make it almost exactly...except I didn't have regular cocoa, i used dark. I enjoyed this, but im pretty sure it would have gotten 5 stars if i would have used regular cocoa. Also, it looks really funky when you are preparing...but make EXACTLY to recipe and it will come out yummy! there was more than enough sauce in my opinion...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Nice flavor and very easy to put together...when you pour the water over the top you wonder if you are following the recipe correctly but it turns out nicely in the end. I just wished there was more sauce to my cobbler. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      this was pretty good...we served it with ice cream. i thought the chocolate flavor was lacking something, though...just couldn't figure out what. it was quick and easy, and i liked that it made it's own sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Mmmm... chocolatey! Quick and easy to make, too. Seems this recipe would be fun for kids due to the complete transformation it undergoes in the oven. Thanks for posting! I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Yum!!! I served it just as you suggested and plan to make it again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      I have a cobbler recipe I made like this and my dh and ds loved it. It was delicious. I think it is time to make it again. Thanks for reminding me of this dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      I also have been making this for 40+ years. I remember years ago making one to send to our elderly neighbors and my daughter told them "it was made from scraps" instead of from scratch. LOL. I haven't thought of making one for years but this posting jolts my memory so, I just might make one today "out of scraps..! This is really a good recipe. THX, MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      I made it in a 8 X 11 glass pan. You could see the sauce on the bottom, to be drizzled. It was very good, served warm with an orange ice cream, called Summers Dream. I didn't have vanilla. Mine was great!. I took it out of the oven before it became too firm. I had to cook a little longer because of altitude. The sauce has to be flowing to make it through the batter. It is not intended to be a fudge sauce, just a wonderful drizzle sauce to put on the cake when eating.Thanks for posting! I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      My family & extended family loved this. I made it by instructions. I also had another dessert. There were 15 of us present. They were fighting over the rest of it, since everyone only got a little bit to begin with. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      Unfortunately this one really bombed in our household. The feedback (I'm on a diet so didn't eat it myself!) was that it was far too sweet, the top too hard and the sauce too runny. The other half was expecting a larger version of a chocolate fondant I think. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cobbler

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.3
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    19%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 306.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.7 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 52.2 g
    209%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes