22 Reviews

I've made this twice now. The first time I made only half to test the recipe with BF, brother, and me we all enjoyed it very much. The second time I made it for Thanksgiving dinner. I added a little vanilla and served with vanilla bean ice cream and it was a hit. Thanks so much, will definitely be making this often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Digital Girlie November 28, 2008

I too have been making this recipe for years and it was always a favourite. It is so simple to throw together and makes a lovely sauce. Add a little vanilla ice cream and this is a chocolate lovers paradise!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher May 30, 2010

It didn't look pretty at all. And the flavor was only entertaining because I'd read other reviews and added cinnamon & nutmeg for extra flavor. First serving was ok. Reheated--hard to swallow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em December 26, 2012

I have been making a recipe similar to this for years. One of my best memories is watching a college student who was majoring in engineering sit on my kitchen floor in front of my oven and watch this bake. It is so cool when the cake layer starts to rise to the top and the sauce sinks to the bottom. I think that I read somewhere ( not sure where) that this happens because the specific density of the cake layer changes as it bakes making it lighter than the specific density of the sauce. I could be wrong about that, but what a great kitchen science lesson that tastes incredible!! And I love the looks that people give me when I pour the water over the top. Entertaining and delicious - you can't beat that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly Keller May 12, 2012

This didn't do it for me at all. Like another rating indicated, it lacked something. I think it needed butter or more milk. I would say it was better after it completely cooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RoxiGirl February 13, 2012

I let my 11 y/o DD make this and it was wonderful ate with some ice cream (vanilla low fat from the store). I love that the ingredients are a staple in most kitchens. this is an amazing transformation! I wish i knew how it worked. This is a definate keeper and I think I will be baking more often now. Hope you like the photos

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C April 28, 2010

I haven't tried this, but I plan to make it in a few weeks with a homemade peppermint ice cream. Yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmj9476 July 05, 2009

This made everyone very happy when it was dessert time. I would have preferred something more chocolatey - I might try using a different cocoa next time to see what the results would be. The sauce was very nice, great with some vanilla ice cream. The texture was light, more cake like than brownie like, but we all enjoyed this. Thanks for posting !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitaholic January 24, 2009

This is great recipe. I only serve it with ice cream when the grandchildren are here; however, with the chocolate sauce it is yummy plain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glendwilde June 26, 2008

mmm! so nice! thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.sugiarto April 11, 2008
Chocolate Cobbler