Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Coated Orange Peels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Coated Orange Peels

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2001

      Wow is right! I love chocolate and orange and I always get coated peels at the candy store when I go, but I've never made them. It was worth the effort and the time. It took awhile longer on the cooking part than I think it should have, it took over 2 hours and I turned the heat up to medium halfway through because It hadn't even started to simmer yet. I also just realized I forgot the lemon juice, not sure what that was for, hope it's not important because it still tastes good! They will be gone in no time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2001

      These are gorgeous -- and so yummy too. The ONLY thing I would do different next time is to use superfine sugar rather than regular granulated sugar to coat the peels before dunking. Yes, they are definitely a great gift idea, and really pretty easy -- my kids enjoyed watching (and tasting) the transformation from orange peel to candy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2001

      Wow! the best thing since terry's chocolate oranges... just one problem...oranges where you are seem rather larger than oranges where I am... no way could I eek out 80 candies!!! Ok, so I'm making at least triple of this next time... this is *SO* worth the time involved... trust me, theese are going to be sent out as gifts to a lot of my friends. I used 99% chocolate for 1/4 of them, then added some 55% chocolate to that for another 1/4 and then added some cocoa butter for the other half, My friends have varied tastes...not all of them like dark dark dark like me! the 99% is so strong...bitter bitter bitter, but the sweet sweet oranges make it just scruptious! Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      Thank you for this one I tried it today and its wonderful!! Took quite a while but well worth the time taken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      mirjam this was a huge hit in my holiday baskets!! thank you so much. my husband loved them as well and said they reminded him of home. thanks so much!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      These were beautiful and tasted terrific. I loved the contrast of textures of the chewy peel, the grainy sugar coating, and the smooth rich chocolate coating. These take a very long time to make, but the hardest part if peeling the orange and removing the pulp. These made excellent holiday gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2002

      Great recipe, very tasty candies. It is a lot of work, so this will be a special occasion recipe for me...but well worth the effort. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      Yum!! Absolutely LOVED it!! Didn't like the rolling in sugar as the peels were quite sweet already so did half rolled in sugar and half without. Loving chocolate, I dipped the whole thing in chocolate. Very good and well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      These are a lot of work...but they are worth it! Even though you will be putting in a lot of time, you are unlikely to mess them up if you follow these instructions. One thing: I was only able to squeeze less than 50 candies with this much chocolsate...so you might want to heat up more than just 5 oz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      I never mix the oil with the chocolate. I always use chocolate chips b/c they're cheaper & they microwave & melt well. To microwave chips successfully I do it on 50% power and every thirty seconds I take the chocolate out and mix. Doing it this way takes about 3 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      These are just as delicious as I remember from my childhood. I have learned a new respect for my late DM who made these for us every Christmas. Prepare to invest some time making these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Coated Orange Peels

    Serving Size: 1 (976 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 31.6
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    29%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes