9 Reviews

This is a delicious and impressive dessert. Easy too. I have a slightly different version, which calls for spreading raspberry jam on the other side of each wafer before stacking. It's a little messy assembling, but that's not really a problem. :) Your guest will think you spent hours on this. I've had this recipe for so long, I don't recall exactly where I found it, but it may have been off the wafer package. In any case, you simply *must* give this a try. Thanks for posting Pixie. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 December 08, 2009

This was a tradition in my husband's family, and I married into it. Always served at Thanksgiving and Christmas. At least it's quick and easy. Always make the night before and chill in the fridge until serving time. We call it "Cookie Cake" but we just double the recipe and make two logs alongside each other. We don't try to fit it into a cake tin. Last Xmas I didn't serve cookie cake and made a cookie dessert tray instead. There were mild objections, but honestly, I didn't have the fridge space for the cake!!! LOL. Usually we let the kids make this. (It's their "job".) The first time I had cookie cake, I was amazed at just how soft the cookies get from sitting in the whipped cream. They just melt in your mouth. Definitely comfort food. My husband says that sometimes instead of using the cookie wafers, they'd make brownie cake by baking a brownie mix in a jelly roll pan (very thin) slicing those up and using in place of the cookies. Dunno. Sounds to me like more trouble than its worth. The cookie wafers work fantastically.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif July 20, 2007

Pixie this has been a Christmas tradition in our family too. My mum made this every Christmas then I took over the tradition. The only difference is we dip the biscuits (cookies) quickly in brandy or sherry and we decorate with fresh strawberries. I also run the tines of a fork along the log, and mark a spiral at each end to make it look more like a log. At times when we need it to serve more I make a small branch coming diagonally off it. I was just about to post this but searched Zaar first, you saved me the trouble. Thanks Pixie this has been a tradition in our family for well over forty years.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ninna June 29, 2006

This is SO great! Way easier than a jelly roll version. I made an extra stack of cookies and stuck on top for a little branch coming off. Also, I couldn't find chocolate wafer cookies so I used the thin Oreos, which worked fine. I froze the cake once the cookies were all sandwiched together, then covered it in the whipped cream (darkened slightly with cocoa powder) and froze it again. Just pulled it out 30 minutes before serving. It was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana J. November 04, 2015

I have a love-hate feelings towards this recipe. The love is for how easy, quick and inexpensive it is to make, and how impressive the look and the flavor are (it's cookies and cream, everyone loves that!). The hate part comes form how frequently people ask for the recipe and it is embarrassing to tell the truth after being showered with compliments on the cake over and over and over. I decorate with whipped cream with cocoa and use a fork to make the "bark". Holly decorations are also easy to make - I melt some chocolate and pour on wax paper, pull shapes using a spoon and a toothpick, and cover with red and green sprinkles for berries and leaves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hobbit December 27, 2010

I made this for my in-laws to go with a nice meal. It is a delicious, simple, fancy looking dessert. (I put four rows of cookies together to make a square, because I didn't want a log.) We got 6 servings out of it - and after reading the nutrition information I can see why it is normally a once a year treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel August 25, 2007

This is a wonderful recipe that I make often. I found it on the back of a cool whip can!! It tastes great, and is so easy to make. People will definitely be asking for the recipe. We often put blueberry or strawberry pie filling on top just before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purdy Good Cook July 06, 2006

Pixie, This is an alternative version of a similar recipe of my Grandma's... she used New Zealand Gingernuts, dipped in pineapple juice, and sandwiched with cream... this recipe called for Chocolate wafters but I completely forgot that the wafters we get here are coffee flavoured LOL. Never mind... It was still as easy to make as I remembered. Maybe becuase I was used to the Gingernuts, I found this to be a little on the sweet side, and I used the sugar very very sparingly already. but having said that, this is a decadent treat and Yes, I would make this again :) I took a photo of it "half done" becuase then I could show the lovely stripy effect of the wafers and cream (and the clingfilm wrapped around the top wasn't going to be very photogenic)Please see my rating system, a lovely 4 stars...Thanks for a lovely recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 22, 2006

I have made this so many times and my kids have always loved this. Who can resist the taste of chocolate and whipping cream. It's also one of the easiest desserts to make. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert July 11, 2004
Chocolate Christmas Log (Cookie Cake)