Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Christmas Log (Cookie Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Christmas Log (Cookie Cake)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2009

      This is a delicious and impressive dessert. Easy too. I have a slightly different version, which calls for spreading raspberry jam on the other side of each wafer before stacking. It's a little messy assembling, but that's not really a problem. :) Your guest will think you spent hours on this. I've had this recipe for so long, I don't recall exactly where I found it, but it may have been off the wafer package. In any case, you simply *must* give this a try. Thanks for posting Pixie. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      This was a tradition in my husband's family, and I married into it. Always served at Thanksgiving and Christmas. At least it's quick and easy. Always make the night before and chill in the fridge until serving time. We call it "Cookie Cake" but we just double the recipe and make two logs alongside each other. We don't try to fit it into a cake tin. Last Xmas I didn't serve cookie cake and made a cookie dessert tray instead. There were mild objections, but honestly, I didn't have the fridge space for the cake!!! LOL. Usually we let the kids make this. (It's their "job".) The first time I had cookie cake, I was amazed at just how soft the cookies get from sitting in the whipped cream. They just melt in your mouth. Definitely comfort food. My husband says that sometimes instead of using the cookie wafers, they'd make brownie cake by baking a brownie mix in a jelly roll pan (very thin) slicing those up and using in place of the cookies. Dunno. Sounds to me like more trouble than its worth. The cookie wafers work fantastically.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      Pixie this has been a Christmas tradition in our family too. My mum made this every Christmas then I took over the tradition. The only difference is we dip the biscuits (cookies) quickly in brandy or sherry and we decorate with fresh strawberries. I also run the tines of a fork along the log, and mark a spiral at each end to make it look more like a log. At times when we need it to serve more I make a small branch coming diagonally off it. I was just about to post this but searched Zaar first, you saved me the trouble. Thanks Pixie this has been a tradition in our family for well over forty years.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I have a love-hate feelings towards this recipe. The love is for how easy, quick and inexpensive it is to make, and how impressive the look and the flavor are (it's cookies and cream, everyone loves that!). The hate part comes form how frequently people ask for the recipe and it is embarrassing to tell the truth after being showered with compliments on the cake over and over and over. I decorate with whipped cream with cocoa and use a fork to make the "bark". Holly decorations are also easy to make - I melt some chocolate and pour on wax paper, pull shapes using a spoon and a toothpick, and cover with red and green sprinkles for berries and leaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I made this for my in-laws to go with a nice meal. It is a delicious, simple, fancy looking dessert. (I put four rows of cookies together to make a square, because I didn't want a log.) We got 6 servings out of it - and after reading the nutrition information I can see why it is normally a once a year treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      This is a wonderful recipe that I make often. I found it on the back of a cool whip can!! It tastes great, and is so easy to make. People will definitely be asking for the recipe. We often put blueberry or strawberry pie filling on top just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Pixie, This is an alternative version of a similar recipe of my Grandma's... she used New Zealand Gingernuts, dipped in pineapple juice, and sandwiched with cream... this recipe called for Chocolate wafters but I completely forgot that the wafters we get here are coffee flavoured LOL. Never mind... It was still as easy to make as I remembered. Maybe becuase I was used to the Gingernuts, I found this to be a little on the sweet side, and I used the sugar very very sparingly already. but having said that, this is a decadent treat and Yes, I would make this again :) I took a photo of it "half done" becuase then I could show the lovely stripy effect of the wafers and cream (and the clingfilm wrapped around the top wasn't going to be very photogenic)Please see my rating system, a lovely 4 stars...Thanks for a lovely recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      I have made this so many times and my kids have always loved this. Who can resist the taste of chocolate and whipping cream. It's also one of the easiest desserts to make. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Christmas Log (Cookie Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (930 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1642.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1585
    96%
    Total Fat 176.1 g
    270%
    Saturated Fat 109.6 g
    548%
    Cholesterol 652.1 mg
    217%
    Sodium 180.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites