25 Reviews

This cake was very moist and dense. I didn't have chocolate chips, but didn't miss them. I was running on 'auto pilot' when I made this and when I read grease and flour bundt pan, I did just that. I should have greased and cocoaed the pan...would have left the outside much prettier. No biggie. I just made a powdered sugar glaze and covered up the bits of flour that wouldn't wipe off. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeAfter40 June 08, 2006

YUMMY ALERT! Darkly chocolate and moist, this cake is absolutely delicious! Very easy to make too, and rises high and even in the oven. I didn't have any milk chocolate chips so I used a combo of semi-sweet and white chocolate (so if you're wondering about white spots on my photo, it's probably a white chocolate chip). I also made chocolate frosting, since my family are frosting lovers and insist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* May 28, 2006

I made this last night, and it really is wonderful. I used egg substitute, chocolate chip swirls (van/choc), and sugar free pudding.I can never match up the ounces on the pudding mixes. They all seem slightly different, but it all worked out great. Also, I remembered another review about the thickness of the batter, so that made me feel better. I used the chocolate glaze from #27144 for the icing. YUM. Thanks so much for this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking-BAG May 19, 2006

This is an incredible cake! I am a novice at cooking so I got a couple of surprises in making it. Just a warning. The "batter" is more like bread dough so don't think you're gone wrong. It is very thick and stiff but wonderful for licking spoons and bowls and an incredible dessert. I put cool whip on each piece and sprinkled some finely ground orange flavored espresso on that. It was gilding the lily I know but it was so tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Very Gray Bear May 03, 2006

This is delicious! Almost like the icing is on the inside. Diffently chocolate :) Thank you very much. Shirley

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: April 03, 2006

WOW! No doubt about it, a chocolate lover's dream. Absolutely delicious. Thank you for a recipe that will surely be one of our favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelbyrose March 21, 2006

This is amazing! So moist, so chocolatey, so GOOD! The only change I made was to use mini semi-sweet chips as that is what I had on hand, and I think I will keep it that way in the future. It was excellent that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL February 25, 2006

Ohhhhhhhh My! Moist, chocolatey and wonderful! This was a perfect Valentine's cake for chocolate-loving DH, he loved it. I made a chocolate powdered sugar glaze to drizzle on the top...yummy. Thanks Shelli for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debloves2cook February 14, 2006

My chocolate loving husband really enjoyed this cake. He gave it 5 stars. The cake was very moist and easy to prepare. Thanks Shelli. Bullwinkle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle January 20, 2006

I'm giving this 5 stars based on how much DH likes this cake. I've made it twice for him to take with him to the hunting camp, but unfortunately I've never been able to taste it. I told him next time I was cutting a slice for me! He says the chocolate is "intense" and is delicious with a cold glass of milk. I used vanilla pudding mix because that's what I had on hand. I can't wait to try it with chocolate pudding! Can we say chocolate overdose - LOL!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby January 05, 2006
Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate Bundt Cake