161 Reviews

I made this for a quick breakfast and snack option. It is moist and wonderful. I used everything as written except I substituted Dannon's All Natural Vanilla Yogurt for the sour cream. Heavenly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon K Taylor April 21, 2013

wow, this is so rich and moist... very chocolatey!
I added extra bananas, but the taste was mainly chocolate... and well recieved, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
womanofmystery January 05, 2013

I just made this recipe and followed it exactly, except that I used mini semisweet chips. The break is very tender and moist -- more like a cake than a banana bread, which is fine with me. My only complaint is that the chocolate flavor is not strong enough, but my husband will likely prefer that. I'll try the whole wheat/applesauce version next time, and maybe try the regular chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjolish September 20, 2012

Love this bread! I can't believe I haven't reviewed it before now as I've made it several times. I usually make 2 loaves out of it and use semisweet chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate. I also use low-fat sour cream and have also used part plain yogurt before, too. Thank you for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady December 05, 2011

Very yummy. I only give it 4 stars as mine didn't stay together well when I cut it. It all crumbled into pieces, even after leaving it to cool.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna in the Philippines October 21, 2011

These cupcakes were great. I did change the sugar in the recipe for 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda. It is a keeper. Thanks for sharing Miss Diggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean Hudson September 27, 2011

~*Miss Diggy*~, What a lovely treat allot more like a cake than a bread but nevertheless wonderful. I followed the directions and made no alterations to the recipe. My chocolate chips did not fall to the bottom as I dredged them in flour. I will definitely be adding chopped pecans next time and icing to the banana bread as to me this banana bread is more like a cake brownie. I will bake this recipe in a bunt pan and serve with ice creme or whipped creme. Thank you for posting a truly original recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo July 26, 2011

Excellent! Moist and delicious. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn June 11, 2011

Delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellie H May 30, 2011

A great recipe. However it's more ingredient & labour intensive than similiar recipes I've made, so I wouldn't make this particular recipe again. Still, the loaf was dense and moist, with an obvious banana flavour. If you're looking for a chocolate & banana fix, you can't go wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconut_chip April 12, 2011
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread