159 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good recipe; excellent as cupcakes or as loaves. I left out the choc chips, used thawed frozen banana(along with the resulting liquid that came out of them as they thawed) and whatever sugars I could find (was almost out of white sugar.) Also, I don't think there was quite a cup of the sour cream left in the container. Definitely a keeper; this recipe is quite forgiving if you don't have everything on the list! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PricklyApple November 27, 2014

Very nice recipe! Made basically as written it comes out moist and flavorful! Only thing I would say is that it doesn't have hardly any banana flavor so I'd like to bump that up next time. But tastes like a really yummy chocolate cake! Thanks for the great recipe Miss Diggy....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender September 06, 2014

This recipe is out of this world!<br/>I used one cup of brown sugar instead of two cups white, & 1/2 tsp of <br/>instant coffee. It came out wonderful...like a brownie. Rich chocolate <br/>flavor and lovely moist crumb. Next time will add some walnuts.<br/>Thanks for sharing a really great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kari-girl September 01, 2014

This bread is the BEST!! I only used 1/4 cup cocoa and I will do that next time I make it, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird February 15, 2014

Incredible, I loved this. I made recipe as written, using smaller loaf pans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iceitup September 04, 2013

Great bread, I made this for something different to do with my left over bananas and it sure was different. Almost like a "brownie Bread" I made it into mini loaves as we usually don't finish a large one but have to tell you - TWO of them were gone almost before they finished cooling. I also used semi sweet mini chips and glad I did. Loved the moist texture and know we'll be using this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 20, 2013

Definitely 5 stars for this one!!!! I love it and I know it would be wonderful without the changes I had to make in order to use what I had on hand: 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 cup of the butter, plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and semi-sweet chocolate chips in place of the milk chocolate ones. The only thing I will do differently next time is to mash my bananas up better than I did. I had some visible banana chunks in mine which I would have preferred not to have, but that's not the fault of the recipe. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra June 20, 2013

Soooo yummy! I made 29 cupcakes by making the recipe as directed. I took a fellow reviewer's suggestion to pour some of the batter in the cupcake liner, add a few Ghiradelli milk chocolate chips, and then top with more batter and a few more chocolate chips (to avoid the chips from settling at the bottom of the cupcake). I baked the cupcakes for about 25 mins at 350 degrees. I will definitely be making this again and again. DO NOT CHANGE A THING ABOUT THIS RECIPE. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreSpicePlease June 19, 2013

I made this for a quick breakfast and snack option. It is moist and wonderful. I used everything as written except I substituted Dannon's All Natural Vanilla Yogurt for the sour cream. Heavenly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon K Taylor April 21, 2013

wow, this is so rich and moist... very chocolatey!
I added extra bananas, but the taste was mainly chocolate... and well recieved, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
womanofmystery January 05, 2013
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread