160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A Great Variation of a classic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Bean June 02, 2009

Wonderful texture and moisture! Great taste! I made this for a good-bye party and everyone raved about it. I added the entire bag of chocolate chips and I think it was more than enough. I dusted the chocolate chips with cocoa powder and a little flour to keep the chips suspended in the bread. Thanks for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michigan-fan May 30, 2009

This bread is delicious. My kids were calling it a brownie rather than bread. Perfect for sharing with friends and neighbors!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubba&Boo May 02, 2009

Amazing. Yummy. Next time I will make in cupcake cups. That would be the perfect size and my kids will eat it as a treat. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicagehring May 01, 2009

I've made these twice now--both times as muffins and with a few low-fat tweaks--and they've turned out absolutely scrumptious! First, I made just a third of the recipe and got a yield of 12 muffins/cupcakes. Here are the modifications I made -- I used 2 Tablespoons of butter and 3 Tablespoons of applesauce in place of all butter; I used EggBeaters in place of the eggs; I used two bananas; and finally, I used low fat sour cream. Also, I placed a pan of water in the oven with my muffins as they cooked to help keep them moist. Now, I don't know what this recipe tastes like without these changes, but with them it is AWESOME! Even my husband devours these! As a personal preference, I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and semisweet chips, which make them dark and fudgy and delicious. I will make these again and again -- next time I may even try it with part whole wheat flour, but that just might be a bit too crazy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodlookin' Cookin' January 31, 2009

wow, this is good. makes alot too! i doubled the recipe and ended up w/ 5 loaves plus a dozen muffins! guess i should have read through the whole recipe LOL... very moist and yummy though and those lucky enough to get a loaf raved about how good it was. freezes well too, i sliced one loaf and packed in individual baggies for those rushed mornings. just thaw in the microwave and you're good to go. this recipe is a keeper, and even my banana hating husband liked it. he said it' "pretty good but it's contaminated by bananas!" which to me is a good thing... :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuddyMommaPottery May 10, 2008

Moist, taste chocolatey/banana and smelled great while baking!...I did a healthier spin on it and it turned out just as wonderful!!... I cut the recipe to one loaf and here are my changes: -REPLACED 7/8 cup white flour WITH 1/4 cup whole wheat flour/1/4 cup brown rice flour/ slightly less than a 1/4 cup whole grain pastry flour -REPLACED sugar WITH splenda (kind that measure cup for cup) -added 1/4 tsp dough enhancer (makes whole grain loaves lighter) Dough enhancer can be found at a health food store and whole grain flours can be found in the health food dept. or baking aisle of regular grocery store.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orphan71 April 11, 2005

This was such a hit with family and friends, thank you for a new twist on a classic. I was able to make two medium loaves, and the rest I made mini-muffins out of, which were so cute. I also used mini-chocolate chips so the mini-muffins would not be overwhelmed by big chips! :) Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrilife April 11, 2005

what a great spin on a classic recipe!!it was a real hit at our house. i gave the other two loaves to family and friends with rave reviews!!!i will be making this again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soonerchick February 19, 2004

I must have been living in a cave in the remote mtns because I had never heard of adding chocolate or sour cream to banana bread. What a delicious surprise and a very easy recipe. The entire family thought it smelled wonderful while it was baking and could not .wait to eat it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DyAnn Baerg May 02, 2015
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread