161 Reviews

These are very good! I've never really cared for chocolate banana bread, but this rocks! My kids say they taste like a brownie. The only change I made was that I used semi-sweet chocolate chips because I didn't have any milk chocolate chips. Either one, I'm sure is great! I wanted my kids to take this to school in their lunches so I made 12 muffins and baked for 20 minutes. I also got one large loaf pan (baked for one hour) and a mini loaf pan (baked for 40 minutes). I did use low-fat sour cream with great results. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids March 25, 2010

the first evening we made 30 mini muffins for youngest daughter church night doing the recipe as is......the next night we made 2 mini loaves and 2 med loaves using 1/2 cup marg and 1/2 cup applesauce.....very moist and very tasty and very very good!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay August 19, 2010

I made this b/c I had fat free sour cream that was going to expire! My husband & some of my in-laws LOVED it! I cut the recipe in 1/2 & used a 9X5 loaf pan--also used 1/2 Splenda & half sugar. Used about 1 cup mashed bananas--was nervous about using too much/too little but it worked great! I didn't have time to read all the reviews, but I did see how "layering" the choc chips worked great--so I did that, too! Used about 3/4 cup choc chips :-). I hope to make this again for company!! Thank u for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS May 29, 2010

I wish I could give it more stars. I made it first without the cocoa, and it was fabulous. I made it again with the cocoa and it was even better. I had no sour cream so I used Mountain High plain yogurt without draining it and it was just fine as a substitute. Thank you so much, Miss Diggy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cafe114 December 20, 2009

Really tasty bread. I have made this twice now. Both times I halved the recipe. First time I pretty much made it as written and it was very good. Made it again today and lightened it up by subbing 1/2 the sugar with Splenda granular, using fat free sour cream, and replacing the butter with more fat free sour cream. It came out just as tasty this way, perhaps a bit denser and maybe a bit more moist.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 January 20, 2010

This recipe is great! I substituted whole wheat flour instead of white flour, non-fat sour cream instead of full fat, and I used a mixture of apple sauce and mashed up raspberries instead of the butter. The raspberries gave the muffins a great tangy taste. Cut back on the sugar by about 1/2 cup and they still taste great. The recipe made one loaf and about 12 medium sized muffins (cooked the muffins for about 30 minutes.) Next time I will make lots of extras too freeze! Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdizzle January 10, 2010

Excellent Banana Bread! I've made this recipe 4 times in the last 3 weeks! We've given it out to friends and neighbors and all with rave reviews! This will be a keeper, and added to my cookbook to share with future generations!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braden, Blake and Bren's Mom December 21, 2009

Wow! Surprisingly easy and delicious. I made the recipe exactly as written. This one really is more of a dessert than traditional banana bread. I'm going to make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saijem9 May 30, 2011

Wow !!! I made this recipe in cupcakes. Made 30. They are some of the most flavorful and moist cupcakes I have made. Will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks !!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenMagician6 December 30, 2010

YuM! More cake-like than bread-like, but I will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoKoBu December 25, 2010
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread