Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2010

      These are very good! I've never really cared for chocolate banana bread, but this rocks! My kids say they taste like a brownie. The only change I made was that I used semi-sweet chocolate chips because I didn't have any milk chocolate chips. Either one, I'm sure is great! I wanted my kids to take this to school in their lunches so I made 12 muffins and baked for 20 minutes. I also got one large loaf pan (baked for one hour) and a mini loaf pan (baked for 40 minutes). I did use low-fat sour cream with great results. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Very good recipe; excellent as cupcakes or as loaves. I left out the choc chips, used thawed frozen banana(along with the resulting liquid that came out of them as they thawed) and whatever sugars I could find (was almost out of white sugar.) Also, I don't think there was quite a cup of the sour cream left in the container. Definitely a keeper; this recipe is quite forgiving if you don't have everything on the list! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      the first evening we made 30 mini muffins for youngest daughter church night doing the recipe as is......the next night we made 2 mini loaves and 2 med loaves using 1/2 cup marg and 1/2 cup applesauce.....very moist and very tasty and very very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I made this b/c I had fat free sour cream that was going to expire! My husband & some of my in-laws LOVED it! I cut the recipe in 1/2 & used a 9X5 loaf pan--also used 1/2 Splenda & half sugar. Used about 1 cup mashed bananas--was nervous about using too much/too little but it worked great! I didn't have time to read all the reviews, but I did see how "layering" the choc chips worked great--so I did that, too! Used about 3/4 cup choc chips :-). I hope to make this again for company!! Thank u for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I wish I could give it more stars. I made it first without the cocoa, and it was fabulous. I made it again with the cocoa and it was even better. I had no sour cream so I used Mountain High plain yogurt without draining it and it was just fine as a substitute. Thank you so much, Miss Diggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Really tasty bread. I have made this twice now. Both times I halved the recipe. First time I pretty much made it as written and it was very good. Made it again today and lightened it up by subbing 1/2 the sugar with Splenda granular, using fat free sour cream, and replacing the butter with more fat free sour cream. It came out just as tasty this way, perhaps a bit denser and maybe a bit more moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This recipe is great! I substituted whole wheat flour instead of white flour, non-fat sour cream instead of full fat, and I used a mixture of apple sauce and mashed up raspberries instead of the butter. The raspberries gave the muffins a great tangy taste. Cut back on the sugar by about 1/2 cup and they still taste great. The recipe made one loaf and about 12 medium sized muffins (cooked the muffins for about 30 minutes.) Next time I will make lots of extras too freeze! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Excellent Banana Bread! I've made this recipe 4 times in the last 3 weeks! We've given it out to friends and neighbors and all with rave reviews! This will be a keeper, and added to my cookbook to share with future generations!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Wow! Surprisingly easy and delicious. I made the recipe exactly as written. This one really is more of a dessert than traditional banana bread. I'm going to make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Wow !!! I made this recipe in cupcakes. Made 30. They are some of the most flavorful and moist cupcakes I have made. Will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      YuM! More cake-like than bread-like, but I will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Excellent! I've used sour cream in cakes before so knew it would make for a very moist banana bread. I was asked for recipe after making it and even hubby who hates bananas loved it! Love the addition of cocoa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      I liked the combination of chocolate and banana in this bread, and I have used sour cream in banana bread before so I knew it was going to be good. Nice, tasy loaf but just a bit rich for me to want to make it again. Thanks for a great recipe though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This is awesome! Tastes just like chocolate cake with the added benefit of fruit. I frostened it with chocolate icing, and it disappeared in a day. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      So easy to make and very yummy! I ate some warm and had a bit of a sour after-taste in my mouth, so I'm interested to see if the same thing happens when you eat it cold. I used light sour cream, egg beaters, and partially used wheat flour since I ran out of regular. It collapsed a little in the oven, maybe because of the egg beaters.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This was very good, however, mine was very crumbly when I tried to cut it. I made exactly as stated except I used low fat sour cream. Does anybody know if that would have made it crumbly. We really liked this, but next time I think I'll make cupcakes. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This bread was delicious!! I replaced the butter with apple sauce and used half Splenda and half sugar instead of full sugar. Loved it. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This recipe is excellent! It tasted, to me, just like a chocolate costco muffin with banana involved. :] I didn't alter the recipe at all, good as is. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Great bread, my kids love it! It's very moist, and has kept very well for almost a week as we slowly make our way through the two loaves I got out of this recipe. I think it's going slower than most banana bread recipes because it has more of a dessert feel to it than a traditional banana bread. Normally we'd see a banana bread go as snacks or as breakfast, but this one seems reserved for after-dinner cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Substitued sour cream. I used drained, non-fat plain, yogurt. I take my container of yogurt and put the yogurt in a sive ( I have sometimes lined it with cheese cloth first) and let all the liquid drain off (for an hour, or leave overnight in the fridg.). Then it is thick like sour cream (will become like greek yogurt). I also only had a bar of dark chocolate that I cut up into small pieces. Great flavor. I added coarsely chopped walnuts too. Will use hazle nuts sometime. I whiz my bananas in my blend to puree before adding to recipe. Makes a nicer texture to the finished bread. This bread is the very best banana bread ever! Also like it because it uses lots of bananas, I seem to end up often with over ripe banans and don't like to eat them at that stage, but love banana bread, and banana and chocolate a perfect combo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.1
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    42%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 46.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 236.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites