10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake really satisfied my chocaholic sweet tooth! Athough I made a couple errors, it was a GREAT cake. First mistake, I used a dark chocolate mix w/pudding. I didn't notice this until it was too late. My pudding boxes were about 3 oz each (not 6 oz). The batter was very thick and needed about 60 min of baking time. Otherwise, I made it as written. It couldn't be better at satisfying the need for a chocolate fix. I dusted w/confex sugar and served warm with Cool Whip. Would be perfect for a bake sale. Loved it. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prd2bbsn February 01, 2010

This was extremely rich! It's for that once in a great while Chocolate fix. It took longer to bake and it's very important to grease the bundt pan well. I made a cream cheese chocolate frosting and servings were smaller to cut back on the calories a bit since it was rich enough to enjoy without ODing on chocolate goodness:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LinLP October 05, 2012

have you taken a gander at the calorie content of a single serving - it is more than a whole meal should be... now that is decadent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hancnurse June 18, 2009

The whole family loved this cake. I made it as a birthday cake with white icing. I used two round cake pans and the center fell a little - it is a very dense cake. I would definately suggest sticking with the bundt pan as that is what I will be using in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sun10down April 08, 2009

This turned out wonderful- I added a layer of chocolate chips and heath bar chips in the middle of the cake and served it with chocolate glaze. It tasted good warm- but cooled the next day it was even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whatscooking? November 24, 2007

I printed this recipe a few months ago and have been making it since. It has gotten great reviews from all my friends and family. Definitely a much requested cake in our home. Thanks SO much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
satchell March 09, 2007

My family loved this cake. It was so easy and quick to put together. I served it still warm so the chocolate chips were soft. It is a very moist, rich and chocolate lovers dream cake. I will definately make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Umm Mazen November 15, 2006

I got this delicious cake recipe from my neighbor. It's very dense and very very rich and moist. She said the original recipe called for icing, but this is so good & rich it doesn't need any. I just lightly dust the top of it with powdered sugar just for looks. Yum! Great for a potluck or a casual dinner -- I've also found it stays moist 4-5 days later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal October 20, 2006

There ought to be a waiver to sign before eating this cake. MMMMM...ymmmy...a true chocoholic's dream come true!!! Used fudge cake mix, adding a tad(!) more choc chips. Made if for son's b-day--not a piece (or crumb) left! THANK you--this one's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtnmel September 17, 2004

This is such a good cake! My daughter(15 yrs.old) made this while I was making dinner and she was able to follow the directions easily. We loved the flavor and texture was nice and smooth. I drizzled Mae east's chocolate frosting over the top. Thanks Molly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 06, 2004
Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Cake