12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! It has the flavor of a brownie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lil' Momma Jenn October 31, 2011

I used a silicone mold of the proper size and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 c. The batter did fill the pan to about an inch from the top, it did rise, but not even to the rim and it fell a bit, but I baked it an hour even though I used a convection oven. It was very moist, not cakey at all. More like a fudgy brownie. The chips, although dusted with flour first, still sank, and made the surface a bit unattractive. I covered it with chocolate glaze. It unmolded just fine. Tasted very good and chocolately.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdej July 11, 2010

I made this for my sis-in-law's birthday and frosted it with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing. I didn't actually eat it myself (I don't like chocolate), but the in-laws said it was great - very moist. I might add a touch of cinnamon to the batter next time, or maybe mix a little instant coffee in with the milk. My only complaint was that the batter overflowed from my cake pan once it started to rise - even though I used a bundt pan of the stated size. Next time I'll fill the pan less and make cupcakes out of the extra batter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pixelated Vegetarian April 13, 2009

This cake was very moist and full of chocolate flavor. I made this for Easter dinner dessert. I didn't use a glaze, served this with vanilla ice cream. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom April 12, 2009

3/29/09 This cake is ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Not sure what happened with Avonfarmwife and I was sad to read the review. I have to say this cake is CHOCOLATEY, it is RICH it is MOIST and it is ALL GONE. YUM! will definitely make this again. 5 stars.. the first time I have given a 5 star rating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neilis April 04, 2009

I found the cake to be very moist and delicious. Made this for my son's bday party and got lots compliments. I added chocolate chips to the cake batter, it made a nice addition. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrganiGem August 03, 2008

Sorry but this cake was a huge disappointment here. It baked nicely but it was too dry and no one would eat it ... Guess we're used to a moist cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
avonfarmwife March 09, 2008

So wonderful! I am definitely a chocolate lover and this cake fit the bill. Easy to put together and it tasted great even though I ran out of sugar and only used 1 1/2 cups instead of 2! I will for sure make this cake again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C Mac September 03, 2007

Rich, moist, chocolatery, this is some cake! My bundtpan fit the measures stated exactly and yet I was a bit worried. Why? Well the batter filled the pan up so much that there was hardly any room for the cake to rise. So-I was worried that it would overflow. Since I was in no mood to clean up the oven of burnt cake I put a piece of parchment paper under the pan. If it should overflow, at least my oven would be clean. But I shouldn't have worried, the pan was the right size for the cake. Yes it rose, but not a crumble overflowed. It baked in exactly 55 minutes. I let it cool a bit in the pan and then turned out a perfect, mouthwatering smelling fantastic chocolate cake. Did not frost or glaze it (we are not that "frosty" here in Europe), it was perfect just as it was. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo August 18, 2007

This is such a delicious cake, everybody was raving about it at my brunch today!! Not too sweet, it came out moist and so tasty! I served it with Orange Glaze as a glaze. I used low-fat milk and added a little less sugar. Thanks Paula!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie April 09, 2007
Chocolate-Chocolate Cake (Bundt Cake)