Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Chip Shortbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chip Shortbread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2002

      Ohhhhhhhh gawshhhh these are addictive! Between mom, grandmom and I we gobbled down half the batch! The instructions for this recipe are perfect, and I didn't change a thing. I used salted butter because that's all I had on hand, but I figured that was okay, and didn't omit the salt. These shortbreads turned out buttery, crumbly, delicately gooey near the chips, and simply out of this world! Thanks Karen... this was some experience! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Deeeelish! Super rich, and easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This was so easy and a big hit! Thanks for sharing it. I will definitely be adding this to my recipe collection and making it again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This is a delicious cookie. I made two batches and made hem as part of my Christmas teacher gifts for the school where my kids go. They looked great & tasted even better. Even my younger son loved these since there were a few left overs after wrapping up the gifts. I did not divide the dough into two pans as I wanted a thinker cookie. They still came out great, just had to cook a tiny bit more. Love these cookies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      This was delicious! I made it with white chocolate chips. I think 1/2 cup of chips was a little much for my taste, but still yummy. I put it in one circle pan because I had a few too many bites of dough. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      This is an awesome recipe!!! Sweet, but not too sweet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Fast, easy, delicious! I even used regular sized chocolate chips, had to make the dough a little thicker but they still crisped up perfectly! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      This recipe was truly outstanding and deserves every one of the five stars. I made it a little bit differently by putting the whole amount of the dough into a buttered 9" pie plate and cooking for approx. 15-18 min (just watched for the edges to get golden). The texture was more that of a chocolate chip cookie, than of a shortbread. It was delish nonetheless and was gobbled up entirely by the end of the night. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, which I will certainly make again and again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      rock on. made these tonite for dessert and they're lovely shortbread cookies, i used chunked up cadbury bars for the chocolate b/c it's just what i had around, but i wouldn't change a thing. yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      This was good, especially for being so easy. My dough would not combine though, it was still just crumbs. I stuck it in the microwave for 10 seconds to soften the butter a bit more, since I hadn't softened it much in the first place. This was a mistake because it became more like a cookie dough--thick and sticky, and nearly impossible to spread in the pans. Next time I will just pat the crumbs into the pan and go from there. It still turned out yummy though and is not terribly unhealthy either, considering the size of the pieces. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      These biscuits tasted delicious - very sweet and were so easy to make. The chocolate chips melted right through the mixture which tasted great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Worthy of every star! These cookies are so simple to make with ingredients you will most likely have on hand. Yes, the dough is crumbly but you just need to pat it in the pans with the tips of your fingers. The instructions are well written. After scoring the shortbreads in the pan and letting them rest for 10 minutes or so, they easily tipped out of the pan and I was able to cut them into individual cookies. With a cold glass of milk, I was in shortbread heaven!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      These were deeelicious !! I never tried Shortbread before, this recipe was easy and turned out great. I didn't have mini- chips so I used regular size, even better because I love chocolate ! I will be making this often over the holidays !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      I baked these for my mom as a little surprise last weekend when she came to visit me down at school. Not only could she not stop talking about how she loved the taste, she took the whole plate home and left none for me! :) Needless to say, they were a success with the perfect texture and flavor. I'm new to posting but let me say, Karen, your recipes are awesome. Thanks for all of you're fabulous ideas :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      I am not sure what went wrong, but these turned out like cookies and not shortbread at all. I am quite an experienced baker and followed the recipe to the letter, so not sure what happened. That said, they were quite nice, although a little bit too chewy for my liking - they also had a greasy texture to them. Overall, enjoyable but not what I was expecting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      Easy and delicious, a huge hit with my husband. We both got sick eating too many!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      i'm not going to rate it because i'm sure the reason i didn't like this was my fault. i was trying to be ambitiuos and make jam-filled hearts fo Valentine's, so since I heard it was crumbly and didn't want it to be crumbly when I shpaed it, I added a bit more butter. They looked fantastic, really should have taken a picture first. Because in the oven, I'm not sure if it was the butter or the jam, but they MELTED. Like, they spread and turned really gross! Argh! Anyway, so thats my disaster story. Also, the dough was really sweet. Better luck to others!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      This is a super easy and quick shortbread recipe. I did find it a bit greasier/oilier than other shortbread recipes I've done so I might add a bit more flour next time. I had to bake it longer so I could get it out of the pan in one piece. I gave it in my Christmas baking tins to our kids teachers and it got good reviews. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      Well, my batch of shortbread didn't last long! Very yummy - will definitely make again. A batch of this would also make a lovely gift!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      Divine. This was my 1st attempt at shortbread and I paid heed to review which said the batter would be crumbly. I halved the recipe but used more like 1/2 cup of choc. chips:) Cant have too much chocolate in my opinion and I ate the whole pan myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chip Shortbread

    Serving Size: 1 (431 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.1
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    51%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 87.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes