37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are the best pancakes I've ever tasted. I made a batch a few weekends ago and froze for a gathering this weekend and they taste amazing! I'm still in awe. I guessed at the chocolate chips but they were perfect, thank you for this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 30, 2011

Delish! Doubled everything except the butter and chocolate which made enough batter for 21 pancakes at 1/4 cup each. Used miniature semi sweet chips and the pancakes turned out with the perfect level of sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady + 3 July 03, 2011

This hit the spot for a breakfast the 'morning after sleep over party' for the kids! I reduced the chocolate chips by 1/2 to 1/2 cup and chopped the chips roughly, after reading about the scorching problem. I cooked at low heat and had no issues with the chips scorching. I used 3 tbps melted butter, because that is what I eyeballed before melting. Didn't miss the 4th tbsp. The recipe made 7 pancakes for me - perhaps because of the reduced chocoloate chips. With the reduced chips and butter but smaller yield the pancakes had 230 cal per piece, which is not bad for a sweet treat for breakfast. Any more chocolate chips and it would have been too sweet for us. I am sure I will be making these again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini September 26, 2010

Thank you KJ for your oh so tasty choco chip pancakes! a total winner with my family!! I used splenda brown sugar to cut out some of the calories and used mini chocolate chips to prevent the scorching reported by others. Other than that I didn't make any other changes! they were fabulous!! we'll definatly be making these again! yummy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misaolyn June 13, 2010

This was a great recipe. However I read through all the reviews prior to attemping and made a couple of changes to avaoid burning the chocolate chips. First of all I decided to use "Premier White Chocolate Chips" from Nestle instead of the the regular chocolate that the recipe calls for. This added a great flavor and when cooked on warm they did not burn. Also I decided to cook them in a frying pan instead of a griddle and used a lid to utilize the convected heat to help cook the top of the pancakes which limited the time between flipping. The recipe was simple and delicious and with this changes everything came out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iokenwa March 31, 2010

Fantastic recipe. We made them for Valentine's Day, and they turned out great. We made the following subs: gluten free flour for wheat flour, original almond milk for cow's milk, a full teaspoon of vanilla, plus 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum. And, we used soy margarine on the griddle which made them brown, but we think they would have browned if we used enough regular oil, too. We did not have to worry as much about med-low flame due to the gluten free flour..... Love the hint of cinnamon. Great cold, too. Thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie's Mom February 14, 2010

I have another pancake recipe that I usually make, but my 11 y/o daughter chose this one and I obliged. They were delicious! I used mini chocolate chips and it worked perfectly. The chocolate chips were spaced nicely throughout the light, fluffy pancakes. I especially liked the hint of cinnamon. My only problem is that they didn't make enough! I might try doubling the recipe next time as I freeze pancakes and they always heat up nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F January 01, 2010

These are great! I followed someone else's advice and cooked at medium-low heat to ensure the chips melted all the way through. I may cut down on the chips next time, as it was a bit sweet, but oh so yummy! I will usually keep them warm in 325 degree oven while cooking the rest of the pancakes. Easy to make any day of the week...served with bacon and syrup. Mmmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
still learning 09 November 25, 2009

Awesome! I made these for my son on his 6th birthday. I used whipped cream in the can to make it a happy face pancake and he and my daughter where delighted. Plus yum! I loved the cinnamon it was super good! We'll do it again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheila the Great October 17, 2009
Chocolate Chip Pancakes