30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love these bars and have made them many times with varying cake mix and pudding combinations. My daughter has the recipe memorized because we make it so often. So nice to have something yummy to whip up whenever our sweet tooth(s) flair up! My favorite combination is chocolate fudge cake & pudding mix with pbutter chips. Spice cake with butterscotch pudding and health bits is also a winner! Thanks, Amanda, for a simply delicious recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vondab64 October 14, 2010

I made this recipe for two events, " Let's P-A-R-T-Y 2011 " and the " Hustle & Bustle of December " .The only pudding I had on hand was French Vanilla,so of course that is what was used. :). Both my SO and I really enjoyed the taste,and I enjoyed the ease of preparation. I can see so many different ways to prepare this. Thank you so much for posting a recipe that is sure to be made often. " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � December 12, 2011

Awesome recipe! I made this was a yellow cake mix, a bag of Toll House chips, sugar free Jell-O white chocolate pudding mix (dry), and a cup of coconut. Instead of water I used Coffee Mate "coconut cream" flavored liquid coffee creamer. Right out of the oven they were a little too sweet (and HOT! haha!) but once they cooled completely they were perfectly deeeelicious! Also they are so so very simple to make :) My family loved this recipe so I can see myself experimenting with all different combination's. I have a chocolate cake mix looking at me right now and its next....lol

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merry Cook May 01, 2011

Very yummy!!! I used hald PB chips and half choc chips!!! These are a great base for a bar that you could add all sorts of different add ins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melaniebabcock February 22, 2010

Maybe if this were called a "pudding cake," we would have liked it better. As a pan cookie, it just tasted too "cakey." Also, with the two mixes, the flavor and color were very artificial. Oh well. I won't be trying this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simple but Delicious January 30, 2010

Definite winner here! I needed something in a hurry for my DD to take to work for a holiday potluck. This filled the ticket on all accounts as far as easy to make, delicious, grab & go, and pretty with red and green spinkles on top. Now I have to make another batch for the family! Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick December 12, 2009

A great blondie, not heavy or hard edges due to the cake mix rather than flour. Thank you Amanda!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat November 09, 2009

Great, EASY recipe! They turned out absolutely perfect- just like the pictures. Seriously, this was the easiest dessert I've ever made! I made these exactly as directed- I thought the amount of chocolate chips was good. Not too much for us! ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photo Momma October 24, 2009

I loved this recipe! I almost always have all of the ingredients in the pantry in some combination. This time I had a devil foods cake mix, chocolate pudding mix, vanilla chips, and a desire for something sweet. The batter is very thick, but easy to stir together by hand. I used a rubber spatula to spread into a 9X13 pan and had to tamp it down to spread evenly. They baked for 30 minutes & cut beautifully when cool. I cut into 24 bars and they were large enough to satisfy cravings. I plan to try new combinations in the future too. Thank you for sharing this keeper of a recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D October 23, 2009

Oh my goodness! These are so good and so easy!!!! I made them last night. Took the advice of another reviewer and only used 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips instead of the 12 oz. Also, I used dark chocolate chips because the dark chocolate is better for you. I brought some to work this morning, and I've already shared with two co-workers the website to get the recipe! Thanks so much for a great treat!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyCook #2 September 21, 2009
Chocolate Chip Pan Cookies