Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Chip or M & M Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chip or M & M Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2001

    • on February 14, 2012

      Delicious cookie! Making the recipe as is makes a lot of dough. It was almost too much for my professional kitchen aid! I used Valentine colored M&M's w/ Chocolate chips and left out the Hershey bar since I had no clue what to do with it since it wasn't in the ingredients and the directions weren't very clear. Will definitely make again, but perhaps half at a time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

    • on August 10, 2009

      These were delicious! First of all, I'm Vegan so I had to substitute a lot of ingredients. First the butter, I used Earth Balance (vegan margarine), then Ener-G (egg replacer), Turbinado (sugar crystals non-alkali), and dairy free choco-chips. Phew! I baked 3 large cookies first and they came out soft and chewy. Then I baked 10 small cookies. Depending on the size, you either leave them in for the time posted or shorter. I ended up cooking all 10 for too long so they were hard. We ate them anyway because all you gotta do is nuke them in the microwave and they'll get a tad softer. Again, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This was reallly good but they spread a lot because we didnt't put the cookies far enough on the pan and are pan was to small. But the cookies were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      BIG hit with the kiddos. My kids and even nieces and nephews who are not used to my sneaky chef baking gobbled them up! I used almost 1/2 whole wheat flour with some oat bran too. I used m&m's and no nuts. Glad I saw the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      My husband and kids really liked these. I used M&M's and mini chocolate chips, and added some oat bran and ground flax. I halved the recipe and still got nearly 4 dozen cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Wow, these really are so good. I changed the serving size to 30; used 1 cu. bread flour and 1cu. all-purp. flour, added choc. chips AND M&M's and I'm amazed how yummie they are. What a great idea to grind the oats down to a flour-like powder. My son doesn't know they are GOOD for him. I'll use that technique again. You GOTTA try these cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I have 5 kids and we are always looking for a great new recipe. These are the best! They are my husbands new favorite cookie and my kids can't get enough. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      These cookies are delicious. Instead of 24 oz. choc chips, we used 16 oz of red and green M&M's and 8 oz choc chips. We got 9 dozen cookies out of the batch. Baked them for 10 minutes and that was perfect. They were the first to sell at the bake sale!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      These cookies are delicious - I could not stop eating them! I omitted the nuts and used chocolate chips. The only problem I had was determining how to use the Hershey bar (which I assume is the standard size bar), as it is not included in the ingredient list. Someone mentioned grating it, so that's what I did and it worked great. Love this recipe and will definitely be using it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      These are delicious! I had to adjust the recipe a wee bit to satisfy my hubby. He doesn't like junk food in the house, so I did like adams.wifey did with the oat bran and flax seed. I also used white whole wheat flour and cut the sugar in half. I used two egg whites and two whole eggs and kept the butter. I didn't use nuts but I used M&M's...wow! These turned out to be a happy compromise and my 2-year old loves them, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      these are very good. i have some sneaky ways to give these cookies a bit more nutritional value: substitute 1c. oat bran for one of the cups of ground oats; add in about a cup of ground flaxseed; use 4-5 egg whites and only one full egg; cut the sugars in HALF; substitute earth balance or smart balance for most of the butter (use just a few T. of regular butter for that flavor). i used all of these substitutions tonight and the cookies were still out of this world! it doesn't turn these into health food - but it can significantly reduce the saturated fat, sugar,& cholesterol content, add in essential fats, and give each cookie more dietary fiber and protein. even if you don't use any of these substitutions, i would still recommend reducing the sugars in this recipe. even with half the sugar, i thought these were exceptionally sweet cookies. also - this recipe is for a very large batch. i have made this several times, and the most efficiant way to do it is to make the cookie dough, bake about 2 dozen, and roll the rest of the dough into balls and freeze them on wax paper in large zipper-seal bags for future use. then - when you need a great batch of cookies as a gift (or as a midnight snack) you can just pop them onto a cookie sheet and bake them as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      These cookies are quite good. However, they took a very long time to make. Unless you have a HUGE gathering or a HUGE family I'd recommend cutting the recipe in half. I only had to bake mine for 7 mins or they got too dark. I could only fit about 8 per cookie sheet or they moulded into each other. So by following the recipe exactly and only fitting 8 per sheet, it took me over 3 hours to make them! I'm going to freeze them and give them away because there is just too many to keep! I also found them to be a bit greasy, so maybe less butter would do the trick. They do taste good though! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      Not a review, but I noticed the ingredient list doesn't include the Hershey bar mentioned in the instructions. At any rate, this is very similar to the Neiman Marcus cookie recipe, and I'm guessing you grate it like in that one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      This is good, I will use it as my "chocolate chip cookie" recipe from now on. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Wow! Powdering the oatmeal gives these cookies a really smooth consistency, but they're thick and filling. I added extra chocolate chips, and I don't think I'll ever use a different chocolate chip cookie recipe again! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Great recipe! I love oatmeal and chocolate chip cookies and this is a perfect recipe. A couple things I want to note was the butter, I always let it come to room temperature before using it for most cookie recipes instead of melting it. I think it makes a difference in the texture. Make sure it's unsalted butter. Also, I omitted nuts and had to bake a few more minutes longer (this really depends on the size of your dough that you scoop!). Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I absoultly LOVED this recipe! They are the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had!I did omit the Hershy bar and nuts because I dont like nuts in cookies and the Hershy bar because I didnt know what kind to get. When I made the dough, I thought that I would never finish it, I made them really small, about a 1 inch ball and got 100 cookies out of it. They are the best cookies! Deffinatly try it, thanks Helen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I quartered this recipe and still got 24 cookies! They were 1T size cookies, though. I have only gotten the first batch out and have already eaten 1. Just the way I like them, sweet and yet a tiny bit salty...and wonderfully chewy. This will be a staple with me! Thanks Helen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chip or M & M Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (3522 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.2
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    47%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 28.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 201.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 20.3 g
    81%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites