Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2003

      Oh my god- SUPER YUM!!! My boyfriend and I adore these. I made them bigger than recommended (I came out with 3 dozen cookies about 3" in diameter) just because we're not big fans of teeny chocolate chip cookies. I also used butter instead of Crisco-type shortening as we try to avoid the partially hydrogenated oils and walnuts instead of pecans, just because they were about $3 cheaper at the store. But, YUM YUM YUM!!! I would definitely give this 10 stars if I could. These cookies are beautiful little oatmeal cookies, super chewy and yum-tastic on the inside! I think that I now prefer this recipe over any other chocolate chip recipe I've ever had (or oatmeal chocolate chip, which I made before, but they came out flatter and crispier and no where near asa good)! The oats add a healthier touch to the cookies and make them feel much more filling- my boyfriend and I split 2 between us last night and were just full of yummy cookies with only 2! The only other change I made was, in my oven, I cooked them at 350*F, as they were a little too brown and a little too gooey at 375*F. Thanks so much for posting this- I'll definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Some of our dearest friends are visiting and decided to bake with my kids. They picked this recipe and made them with butter. They baked them at 350 for 15 minutes (they made them HUGE) and they were lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      So happy right now, that I've found the BEST chocolate chip oatmeal cookie recipe!!! This one made the most absolute perfect cookies, chewy but not hard or crunchy, soft but not cake-like, the perfect combination of sweet, salty, and chocolate!!! I could even taste the vanilla in each cookie. I used mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, organic ingredients, butter instead of shortening, and no nuts, and baked them on a large insulated cookie sheet that evenly cooks. The key with these is to watch them and make sure they don't get too brown! Once they overly brown, the cookie looses it chewiness and instead is crunchy and hard, no one likes that! I cooked each batch-and this recipe makes a big batch-for about 7-10 minutes. Anything over 10 minutes was too long for me. Thank you Kim D. for this gem!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Great recipe!

      I live in Mexico where it's practically impossible to find brown sugar, so I used a cup and a half of white sugar plus 1/4 cup molasses and still got the depth of flavor you'd normally get from brown sugar and the crisp edges you get with white.

      For crispy 2.5" cookies with just slightly chewy centers, bake for 11 minute and let sit on the cookie sheet for two minutes longer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      These are great. I'm going to keep this recipe. I added (didn't have pecans) walnuts and cranberries to make up for pecans. I think (as a note for me) less chocolate chips next time... but I find that in most recipes I've made. So, thanks! Will definitely make again. I think 10-11 mins is best for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      Great cookies. Not using the nuts will save tons of calories. I did 3 cups of oats instead of 2 cups plus the nuts. They came out delicious. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Yeah, pretty darn good. Like many other viewers I made my cookies...umm bigger. 350 degrees subbed butter for shortning and cooked for about 11 minutes. I also used traditional rolled oats as I like the texture better and they came out just great! Thanks for posting a great recipe-exactly what I was looking for this Christmas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2014

      These are great, I used butter instead of shortening and Truvia. I put almonds on top because our child doesn't like nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2014

      this is my go to recipe. I love these, they are perfect. Try adding a dash of kosher salt on top and you will be in sweet/salty HEAVEN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      These were delicious! We were looking for a recipe that was soft and chewy and these hit the mark. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      i really like this recipe a lot. very simple and quick to make. i used half chocolate chips and half peanut butter chips. i also cut the sugar by about 1/4 cup and they turned out great. next time i make them i will use bittersweet chocolate chips and cranberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      Delicious! I made a double batch, and they're all gone already. Will freeze some of the dough next time so we can't eat so many right away. I melted shortening before mixing in sugars. I left out the nuts, and 8 minutes was closer to my liking, not 10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      Yum, yum! Nice & crunchy & delicious! As a personal preference, I omitted the pecans & used milk chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      These came out just OK. They were tasty, but baked up flat and had a really airy texture which I did not like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Great cookies! I made with only about 1/2 cup pecans since that is all I had left and also added about 1 tsp cinnamon in with the dry ingredients. I used my 1 inch cookie scoop and got 3 dozen cookies. They baked up golden and puffy in 11 minutes. Will make these again. Made for Name that Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      Yummy cookie recipe! I left out the nuts and substituted more oatmeal to make them be less fattening, I also reduced the sugar 1/4 cup of both the brown sugar and white sugar... think I could reduce more next time! (And there will be a next time!! :-)) I also substituted white chips and mint chips to make them vanilla mint. they were delicious! Made for my daughter to take to a graduation party with her friends. They got a 2 thumbs up rating!! Thanks for a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      These were so good. I say were since they didn't last long in our house....lol. I made these to be put together into an ice cream sandwich. My kids and their friends "inhaled" them. Thank you for this great recipe. They make great cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      Cookies are ok, but way too sweet. I'd use way less sugar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      This was so quick and easy. My 7 yr old and 2 yr old even helped! I'm going to try it with butter next time. I'm southern and we LOOOOVE our butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Me and my young cook friend enjoyed making these together they are simple and quick. She thinks even a bit yummy, but not a very flavorful cookie. We would maybe use butter next time in place of the shortening. Thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1496 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 723.6
     
    Calories from Fat 402
    55%
    Total Fat 44.6 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 37.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 413.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.6 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 50.5 g
    202%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites