8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I came across this recipe while trying to find a healthy alternative to the frozen chocolate chip waffles my kids eat everyday. I am thrilled to say that my kids love these! As others suggested, I used applesauce in lieu of oil and omitted the sugar. I used old fashioned oats because that was all I had on hand. I ground 1/4 c in blender and left the other 1/4 cup whole. Rather than add the chocolate chips to the batter, I put 6 chocolate chips in each pancake after the bottom crust had formed. To serve, I sprinkled the pancakes with powdered sugar. My only complaint is that the recipe as written only made 6 pancakes (using a 1/4 cup scoop).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daranaco July 13, 2013

I added 1/4 C Flax seed and left out the sugar and salt altogether. With all those chocolate chips there is no need for more sugar. Next time I will put in less Chocolate chips since they were burning before the pancake was done. and I will add more oatmeal. They were good and satisfied my pancake craving. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delrays August 25, 2012

These were so good! I did make a few subs. I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk, applesauce instead of oil, spelt flour, omitted sugar and only used 1/4 cup of Ghirardelli dark chocolate chips. I also used coconut oil to fry them in. These were truly decadent, like eating dessert for breakfast! This will become a regular, for sure, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie421511 June 16, 2011

Wow! Easy to fix on a busy morning, and deeeeelish! I feel good about the oats, and they don't make the cakes heavy at all. Very light and fluffy. Doubled the recipe (but not the oil) for the 4 of us, and there's one large one leftover for ME. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheapThrills August 23, 2009

These are so yummy! We tried this recipe twice, once exactly as stated and once with a couple adjustments. We found it more to our liking with a couple minor adjustments. We only used 1 tbls oil, 1 1/4 cup milk and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Reducing the liquid a little made the pancakes thicker and fluffier, and you couldn't taste the oats as much. I love oats, but sometimes the kids are picky, so being less noticable to them is a good thing! Hubby and I LOVE these hot off the pan with sliced bananas or even plain!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roweena November 30, 2008

These were a great pancake! I did alter it a bit. I used 2 T. unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, 1/4 c. eggbeaters for the egg and 3 T. mini chips (which seemed like plenty). It made 15 silver dollar size pancakes, which are 1 point each if you follow Weight Watchers. This will get a recipe card, the girls loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pardeemom February 11, 2008

Love these! Love these! Love these!!! I would give more than 5 stars if I could. I made 2 different kinds of chocolate chip pancakes this morning and these were the ones that I much preferred. The texture from the oatmeal is my favorite. I will cut down on the amount of chocolate chips next time though - there seemed to be a few too many ( I used 1/2 cup and I think I'll go down to 1/4 cup and see how that is). Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 June 20, 2007

Just tried these for breakfast and they were fantastic. I remember my aunt making these years ago and i loved them as a child and still love them as adult. Thanks for posting this, it was great and brought back alot of happy meomries for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluenoser August 29, 2005
Chocolate Chip-Oat Pancakes