11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 stars from my 9-year old! I only had about a half-cup of Hershey milk chocolate chips (I opted against semi-sweet), so I threw in about 1/4 cup of Hershey peanut butter chips. They turned out very moist and good after only 12 minutes. Oh, and I used margarine instead of shortening.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada October 14, 2007

These were perfect risers. They rose up nicely, never fell, took on a beautiful brown color like a chocolate chip cookie. Were light, and just wonderful. Thank You for sharing. My children will love these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummabear7 August 15, 2009

I made these little guys for my son's Christmas breakfast along with Sunshine Mini Muffins Sunship Mini Muffins. The children liked these but liked the other recipe a bit better. I liked these as they were not to sweet but I thought they were a little dry maybe next time I will add a little more butter as I subbed butter for the shortening and add a little more vanilla or use brown sugar in place of the white sugar. I like the recipe a lot and will probable make again, I doubled the recipe and made about 40 mini muffings. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria December 21, 2007

These were very nice, although slightly (but only slightly) drier and less tender than I'd hoped. Though I classify them as cupcakes, they aren't too rich and taste much more like muffins. I would also try them with streusel for mini-coffee cakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holly Mercer August 14, 2006

These were good and great for a nice afternoon snack. Like the previous reviewed, I used 1/4 cup of softened butter instead of the shortening, and I also used almost a full cup of mini-chocolate chips, though I think 2/3 cup would have been plenty because mine were very chocolatey! They were quick and easy to put together and we all enjoyed them, but I'm giving them four stars because there wasn't anything really special about them, no "wow" factor that really made them stand out, and the flavor really wasn't very strong...these could have been sweeter. Still though, I'll make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconutcream November 22, 2005

These are really tasty, moist and super easy to make! My new go to muffin recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two boys February 27, 2013

I did the recipe as wrote out. But I did reduce it from 375 to 350 because of some comments about dryness. I gave this four stars because the taste was great, but they were dry. I would eat one then need to drink something. But then I couldnt help it and ate four more because they tasted so good. I baked them at 350 for 11 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3boysnlovinit October 18, 2012

I made these exactly as directed (using non-hydrolyzed palm oil) and they turned out amazing. Everyone (including my picky husband) just gobbled these up. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Fam October 13, 2012

These were perfect! I made regular sized muffins and they turned out really well. They were more like a cupcake, but light and tender. The baking soda was a little overpowering on the first day, but by the next day the flavours were much better. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fofi June 21, 2011

These are great snacks for the kids! Less "cupcakey" than other recipes but still a bit of a treat with the chocolate chips. A keeper in our household!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisv January 27, 2011
Chocolate Chip Mini-Muffins