19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful recipe! I made the dough into little crescents and hearts and stars and then piped chocolate glaze on them and they were beautiful and they tasted wonderful. Thank you for such a great, easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollyvf October 15, 2006

Theses were very easy to make and the cookie was to be very soft and tender, much like a shortbread. Decided to do something diferent and used pecans in my cookies. Also, I added mini chips which appeared to be a good choice given the size of the cookie. Ultimately, I chose to skip the chocolate on the top as it felt a bit like gilding the lily - as the cookies were so rich and delicious without it. After the fact it occured to me a great touch might have been to roll the hot cookies in a mix of powdered sugar (traditional) mixed with cocoa and cinnamon (the twist). These were served at a potluck and gone in a heartbeat competely for attention with some pretty fancy fare. Thanks Lauralie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 17, 2006

Tender melt-in-your mouth cookies that really aren't sweet yet still are delicious and cinnamon-y. I baked one cup of Hershey's Mini Chips in the cookies then melted additional semi-sweet chocolate chips to drizzle over them. We enjoyed this variation of Mexican Wedding Cookies and will again ~ Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes July 15, 2006

I made 1/2 the recipe and it worked out great. I had Mexican Vanilla that I received in a swap so what better way to use it. the flovour was really nice, I made such a mess trying to get the topping in the bag that I dribbled it with a spoon instead. I used walnuts and reg size chips. Thanks for posting. Made for World Tour 8 Mexican Challenge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda August 04, 2012

Made for KK's Kitchen Recipe Tag Event. I loved the smell of my kitchen as these jewels baked. I did try one without the chocolate topping, then proceeded to top the rest. Either way these are really a nice cookie. I will be including these on our Cookie tray for Christmas Day. This is one time I wish I hadn't loaned out my camera as they are not only good, but pretty too. Thank You Lori for a wonderful cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 December 15, 2009

I've made these 3 times already and everytime a big hit...I leave out the chocolate topping becasue it's just too missy but it's 5plus stars without it. Every one who tried it ask me for the recipe.:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laila23 November 17, 2009

I made these little morsels, at the last minute and they are VERY quick. I halved the recipe and it made 28. The cinnamon is a wonderful accent. I used mexican vanilla extract and canela, mexican cinnamon. I didn't use nuts, but will try pecans next time. Thanks, Lauralie, for a great cookie twist on an old favorite. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl May 17, 2009

Potluck tag: Made this for the Chocolate Lover's party - delicious twist on the traditional wedding cake cookies - OUTSTANDING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose January 07, 2009

These cookies were simple to make and great to eat! My daughter needed some cookies to take to her Spanish class and these sounded like a good choices between the ingredients and the great reviews. I used mini chocolate chips like many other reviewers along with chopped hazelnuts. I had these on hand and needed to use them. These cookies are very good and I will definitely make these again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri in Georgia September 28, 2008

We loved these cookies! I made them exactly as stated and they turned out wonderful. My kids really enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 July 29, 2008
Chocolate Chip Mexican Wedding Cakes