23 Reviews

I just made these this morning for Christmas and used half chocolate chips and half of the swirled red and green white chocolate chips. Wonderful cookies -- this will definitely be my go-to recipe from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sklhczech December 24, 2008

Fantastic! I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening. And I only used half a package of chocolate chips - which was plenty. Otherwise, I followed all the directions here. I think these were the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had. next time I will double the recipe - a batch only made about 22 of the size I like to make.Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blessed*One September 20, 2008

oooh yum! my little bro was in the mood for cookies and i found this recipe! we loved em!!! they were great!! really chocolate chippy! :D! my cookies took a little longer though... about 15 minutes! thanks 4 the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeliBug May 03, 2008

The best cookies we have ever had!! Thank you! Denver, NC

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hppy_hrt January 01, 2008

I like my cookies about 2 inches in diameter (about the size of a chips ahoy cookie) and noticed that it only made about 2 dozen of those size. I really liked the taste of this, yummy! The only thing I would do next time is double the batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hojo December 08, 2007

These are without a doubt the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had!!!!!!!!They are perfect,better than any commercial one could be. My sister's neighbor was suppose to have the best recipe for them in the world but,I know he would even change his mind.He had held on to his recipe for years.It was given to him by a 92 year old lady and was said to be a top secret so she asked him not to give it out. When she passed away [with a lot of begging]he finally gave it to my sister who gave it to me.Also after a lot of begging,they are really good, but this one has that one beat.I made the first batch for Christmas gifts but after trying a few myself I know they won't last until then.So,I made another batch and made a few changes:I added 1/2 tsp. baking powder,increased the white sugar to 1/2 cup,I used 1/2 bag milk chocolate chips and 1/2 bag special dark chocolate chips,added 1/2 tsp.more of vanilla and 1/2 bag of heath toffee bits.I also did use the nuts[1/2 cup chopped pecans]. 10 minutes @350 degrees was perfect.I got 43 medium cookies from each batch.These are also easy to make. If you are in search of a great cookie,this is it.Look no farther.Thank you so much Jeannie and Grandma!!!!I will e-mail this one to my sister.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesbitt929 December 07, 2007

of course - great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetSmith154 November 21, 2007

These are the first chocolate chip cookies my husband ever made, and they were an immediate success! He found the recipe while I was gone and, with our daughter's help, made one of the best batches we've ever had. I thought he had bought cookie dough while I was away at work. He even scaled down the ammount of chocolate chips as suggested in the reviews. A total winner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenPo September 07, 2007

Fantastically chewy, great reviews from everyone that had them. Definatly my new favourite chocolate chip recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
in_a_whirlwind November 28, 2006
Chocolate Chip Cookies (Grandma's From-Scratch - It's Easy!)