40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

SilFerWolf, I think that you will find that the bitterness problem will be solved by using the baking soda instead of baking powder. It does make a difference in how your baked goods turn out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joychef July 14, 2010

This was perfect! It was very sweet, especially since I iced mine, but very good. I left out the cream of tartar and added a box of vanilla instant pudding. I cooked it on a 15 inch pizza pan lined with foil which I used to bring up the edges of the pan. I'm glad I did or else this cookie would have been all over the oven. Thanks for sharing. I'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHeavenlyHeatherly May 01, 2009

Warning, this is so delicious and very very rich! I made this for my nephews birthday and iced it with chocolate frosting and decorated with smarties. It was a bit too sweet for me with the icing but the kids loved it. If I was making it for adults I think it would be heavenly with whipped cream mounded on top. I used a 12" springform pan to make this and it worked out well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cranberry January 21, 2009

I didn't have a 15 inch pan so I used two 8 inch pans. Worked out perfectly. I decorated mine with some frosting. My kids went gah gah over this. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance January 19, 2009

WOW!!! What a great recipe!!! Just made this today. I made it in a 14" cast iron skillet. Turned out wonderful. I will make this again and again!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefShan December 23, 2008

Fantastic! Baked this for my boyfriend's birthday and won rave reviews from him and the rest of his family. Couldn't find cream of tartar at the store so I left it out, so I was a little concerned when the cake came out of the oven much puffier than I had expected, but it was amazing...like a 2" thick cookie! Frosted this with the recipe for marshmallow cream buttercream, and it was like heaven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer in Alabama October 16, 2008

oh wow..i tried something similar at a restaurant and when I found this recipe I was so excited. Truly delicious, fluffy and a huge hit at any gathering..Ive made it 5 times now and will continue - SO GOOD!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petite clementine September 06, 2008

This was unbelievable! I didn't have a 14" round pan, so I used a large rectangular dish which worked amazingly! The cookie cake was lovely and thick and cooked for just under 25mins. Awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rkvizor June 13, 2008

This cookie is really good! But way too much choclate chips! I would suggest a cup instead of two!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shannonmarie124 January 11, 2015

Great Kids Cake and/or for those who don't like CAKE! I expected it to be like Toll House Pan Cookies but the Powder or the Tarter (?) made it really fluffy. Fun. Kids LOVED it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oreochic68 December 15, 2014
Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake