26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh, Kittencal how you have made my life so much better...and this recipe is no exception to all of the others of yours that I have tried! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this fantastic recipe. These were so moist!! It was hard for me not to eat the entire pan!! Nothing needs to be changed with this. If it ain't broke...don't fix it!!! ;-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrEva October 06, 2009

Very good and very rich!! Skipped the nuts and did extra chocolate chips instead. baked for 25 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe January 19, 2013

I did a double batch for my now 12 year old son's birthday this week. I added 1/2 cup cocoa to the dough to make them a chocolate chocolate chip cookie bar. I also used 2 cups semisweet and 2 cups white chocolate chips in the double batch. Worked great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lissaemtb May 19, 2012

How in heaven's name did I miss reviewing this recipe? I've made it a number of times, and last week even made it two days in a row! It's super easy, and a real crowd pleaser, and is right up the top of my list! Thanks so much Kitten, for another winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen July 02, 2010

I halved this recipe and baked it in an 8x8 pan (glass), but even though it looked nice and golden after 25 minutes when they cooled and I cut them the center was totally raw! I don't know what happened, the edges were delicious and I might try to put them back in? I don't know what will happen if I do that, but it's worth a shot! I can see how these would be awesome had they baked better for me, maybe I will try it again with the full recipe either at a lower temp or a metal pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama February 10, 2010

Great recipe, you are the best kittencal. I doubled it, skipped the cinnamon, and used a combo of 2:1 vanilla/almond extract recommended by another reviewer. It is a dependable cookie taste and the almond extract lends a change of pace. My batch has obviously pushed past the 40 min mark for baking time. Even in the half sheet pan - which spilled over a bit anyway. I caught the edge over spill on a plate and we feasted on cookie crumbles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Two Hearts May 26, 2014

Perfect, I've made quite a few other pan square recipes in the past and though they were okay... this recipe was totally awesome. Nice and soft, not hard and chewy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat March 07, 2014

Excellent recipe. I used a whole bag of chocolate chips instead of 1 C, chopped pecans, vanilla instead of maple extract, and omitted the optional cinnamon. Amazingly good! One note - I did not put it in the bottom of my oven so the top started to brown when it wasn't quite done yet, so I had to cover with aluminum foil and move it down as the recipe suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry G. September 30, 2013

Yummy! All the goodness of a chocolate chip cookie, with a lot less work! Made it with a full 12 oz bag of chocolate chips and probably at least 1 cup of walnuts and the cinnamon. Baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for the full 30 minutes - perfection! It was a gigantic hit! One woman said these bars were worth the hour and a half drive in Chicago traffic!!! Not bad!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MimiKooks July 04, 2013

Very good.. used some cinnamon chips because I didn't have enough chocolate chips and half wheat flour

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee May 29, 2013
Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars