8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the first time I have ever had baked oatmeal and it was sooo good! I made a few changes by using all water, omitting the chocolate chips, and using splenda. With these changes the calorie amount comes to about 250. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kumiko_aki October 17, 2009

Thank you. This was perfect, and saved me from making and eating a whole batch of cookies. No egg beaters, and one whole egg worked fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HDN 4 SPI September 03, 2014

Originally reviewed April 12, 2008. This made it into my book#207955. This was so incredible! It contains some of my favorite ingredients, and I love how you get chocolate chips in every bite (even with the lower amount). I used quick oats, just a pinch of salt, double the nuts, and about half the sugar (I do not like things too sweet). I only cooled it 2-3 minutes, I was afraid it would get cold if I waited 5-10 minutes. You have a winner here! Thanks for incorporating my suggestions. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 20, 2009

I quadrupled the recipe and used molsasses instead of brown sugar. This is a really good recipe! Kids loved it and two of them profess to HATE oatmeal! my daughter saw me rate this and said,"that was oatmeal?" Really good way to get something healthy in them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom March 31, 2009

I have tried chocolate oatmeal recipes on the stovetop or microwave and those techniques just mush the oatmeal up and somehow the chocolate flavor gets lost. I'm not sure why baking would change the flavor like it does but the chocolate flavor really stands out when it is baked. The idea of chocolate and oatmeal sounds good together but only baking really makes it taste as good as it sounds. This is a keeper recipe. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chief cook and bottlewasher March 30, 2009

All I can say is wow - this is terrific!! I used a whole egg instead of the egg beaters, otherwise made exactly as specified. The oatmeal had a nice custard-like texture with a lightly crispy crust on top. Absolutely delicious - thanks for sharing this winner! Made for the Best of 2008 event

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 04, 2009

I've never had oatmeal like this before! DH says we're gonna have it all the time now! I love that it's in single servings so it can be made to each persons liking. DH likes the all milk version and more chocolate, where as I like the 1/2 and 1/2 version with less sugar. Very simple to throw together too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 April 21, 2008

This was fabulous! I altered the servings to serve 12 6c quick oats 2 T baking powder 3 tsp salt 2 c sugar 1 c chips 6 c liquids 3/4c egg white 2 T vanilla I used quick oats, egg whites, and 2c whole milk, 4c water. I baked it in a12x15 pan for 50min. I got a great cake like consistency which the kids LOVED. I like my oatmeal a little more moist so I added milk to mine which was delish! This went over VERY well with the whole crew and will be made again frequently I'm sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot April 13, 2008
Chocolate Chip Cookie Baked Oatmeal