8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't have a springform pan, so I ended up making coffee cake muffins with this recipe and so far everyone who's tried them has loved them! It's simple to make and tastes fantastic. I also use a few (okay, probably a lot) more chocolate chips than called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slightlysmall November 04, 2010

fantastic! Thank you! Like any cook I tweeked a few things to make it my own! I didn't have enough cream cheese so I supplemented with sour cream. I also added 8 oz of chocolate chips. Lastely I wanted a chocolate chocolate chip coffee cake so I added 4 Tbs. of cocoa. Using the springform pan was the way to go. I loved the moist cake with melt in your mouth chocolate. It made a great morning birthday cake for my mom who LOVES chocolate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjphansen August 01, 2009

This is a nice, moist coffee cake. I think I might use a few more chocolate chips, or use mini chips to spread the flavor out a bit. I didn't add the pecans this time, but I think they would have been nice. I think next time I might even make it a streusel topping. thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. November 10, 2008

Brought this into the office today and received rave reviews from co-workers! It's a little too rich for me, but they enjoyed the dense, moist cake with cinnamon-sugar-pecan topping and were surprised to learn how simple it was to put together! It's the perfect hostess gift as it looked like it could have come from a high-end bakery -- I'm sure I will make it again! A couple of subs I made were King Arthur Mini Milk Chocolate Chips for the Semi-Sweet and Light Vanilla Silk Soy Milk for the Milk. Mahalo for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aloha808 October 14, 2008

I baked this cake up in a bundt cake and it worked out perfectly. Because I omitted the topping I put a chocolate glaze on the top. The next time I make this I will make it with the topping. This recipe makes a tender, moist scrumptious cake. I highly recommend this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 March 19, 2008

This is beautiful! I used mini chocolate ships to spread the flavor. I think this would make an excellent cinnimon coffe cake as well without the chips and more cinnimon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pabbit April 22, 2004

Fantastic flavor and texture! I only had one problem... didn't know how much milk to add to the batter, so I added just enough to get it to be pourable. Maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup? Maybe I added a bit too much because after an hour in the oven, the top and edges were almost over-cooked but the center wasn't quite done. I just cut out the center of the cake with a large glass (looks like a bundt cake now) and served. After all this, I still think this cake deserves 5 stars because it's really delicious. Next time I may omit the milk altogether.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi April 17, 2003

This made a very elegant and beautiful coffee cake. I enjoyed every tantalizing bite of it. I made it for my women's service club monthly meeting. There was not even one crumb left. Light texture with gooey chocolate chips. Had a great tasting sugar-spice topping, too. This one's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchengr February 16, 2003
Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake