20 Reviews

Yesterday when I found this recipe, I was wondering why there are twelve reviews and NO PICTURES. Now I know why - once baked, this cake doesn't last long enough to snap a photo! I was really wary of creating a totally pareve banana cake - no butter, no sour cream. I usually substitute tofutti sour cream in a regular cake, but didn't have any this week, so I made this recipe instead. It was PERFECT! Nobody even noticed the switch. I made it with my usual topping - chocolate chips, cinnamon and brown sugar: pour just under half the cake batter into the pan and spread it out, sprinkle with half the chip mixture, then spread the remaining cake batter over and sprinkle the rest of the chocolate chip mixture. It is now GONE, so like everybody else, I cannot submit a picture of it ... maybe next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer January 23, 2010

Hit! I topped mine with a thin layer of Nutella (chocolate hazelnut spread) and chocolate sprinkles.<br/><br/>Watch the cook time - mine baked faster.<br/><br/>Served with vanilla ice cream and/or yonanas (pureed frozen bananas)...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlk8825 July 12, 2013

Made this yesterday and it is almost completely gone! Absolutely delicious. I subbed a little less than half the oil with applesauce, used a 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, and sprinkled some pecans on top. DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eypm March 02, 2013

Made this last night to take over to family gathering today. It was done in 27 min. When I was mixing the oil and eggs, I kept thinking, that is a lot of oil. I added a little bit of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I also lightly coated the chocolate chips in flour as someone suggested. But they still sank to the bottom of the cake. We added whip cream to the top. Personal preference, I would make again without chocolate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel September 02, 2012

This cake was yummy and very easy. I made the recipe once, then again two days later, it was so good. I used extra chocolate chips (almost a cup total), mixing regular and mini chocolate chips. Stays moist and tastes even better the next day. This is now my favorite way to use up overripe bananas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fbell August 28, 2012

This cake is awesome! For this recipe (and any other cake, bread, or brownies) with chocolate chips, lightly toss them in flour before adding to the mix, and they won't settle. They will be evenly distributed through the cake. Yum!!! I used buttercream frosting because I was decorating a whitetail deer cake. I tried a few bites without frosting and think it definitely needs it. The cake is not bad without frosting, it just isn't anywhere near as good as it is with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keren May 14, 2011

it was my first time to bake and it turned out sooo good. everyone loved it. it's very moist. i agree with what Jay3fer said that you can't take a pic of it because like everyone else's, it was gone in a jiffy. i will definitely do this again. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
camille38 April 27, 2011

Wonderful and very moist!!! I followed this recipe exactly (but increased the chocolate chips a bit) and cooked it about 4 minutes less than stated. I made it for my 2 kids for Valentine's Day and they were VERY happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl February 14, 2011

Absolutely delicious and moist! Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Criseyde'sMom January 21, 2010

Quick and easy to make. My family loves this recipe. I decided that recipe is good enough to make for teacher appreciation week at my daughters school. I too followed Picton's idea off adding the fudge brownie iceing. Delicious!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefto3 May 17, 2009
Chocolate Chip Banana Cake