14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Turned out great. Kids love it. We cut the choc chips to 3/4 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anna2402 January 25, 2013

Very nice flavor, with a light tender crumb! After reading the reviews, I reduced the chocolate chip amount to 1 cup, and added 1 cup toasted and chopped walnuts. I baked the bars in a 15x10 (dark) jellyroll pan at 325F for 25 minutes. The bars cut easily. Made (Chocolate Chip Banana Bars #230645 by Karen67) for the Help a Naked Recipe Event in the Photo Forum, September 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle September 23, 2012

Excellent, a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tearfilled May 05, 2010

I have tried alot of banana bread/bar recipes and this is my favorite. I used 2 8x8 baking pans and followed the recipe exactly. My cooking time was a little longer but that is because of my oven. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz March 17, 2010

I made these bars using 2 large over riped bananas, but only using 1-1/2 cups of the miniature chocolate chips, plus I did add 1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon, (YES, I SAID 1 TABLESPOON OF CINNAMON) and then spreading the batter equally into 2-(8x8-inch) Teflon coated baking pans. I also topped each pan with a streusel topping, using the following ingredients: 1/4 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, and 2 tablespoons of melted butter, and dividing the mixture in half and among both baking pans. I baked the bars for exactly 38 minutes. I liked the streusel topping on the bars, and thought this will be good to eat as a coffee cake for breakfast. I bet these bars would also taste good adding a peanut butter frosting to them. I also wanted to mention, that when making these bars in 2 (8x8-inch) baking pans, I ended up with 24 bars. Karen, thank you for posting this recipe, as it helped me decide what to make with 2 over riped bananas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess January 08, 2010

i wanted to make banana bread but don't have a loaf pan - and i am not a "cake" person. this recipe definitely fit the bill. wow. i dont know if these actually came out 'right' (my oven is borked and i have to guess on temperature and rely heavily on toothpick testing) but they sure came out delicious! i used 4 1/2 small bananas because i had to use them up. i didn't have any chocolate chips so i chopped up a 200 g bar of milk chocolate. i decided to top it off before baking by halving this recipe for Streusel Topping so i omitted the powdered sugar. the final result was a "not quite as dense as a brownie, not nearly as fluffy as cake, not as dry as a loaf or a bread or crumbly like a muffin" pan of deliciousness - overall its what i would consider the PERFECT coffee cake. very moist and very full of flavour. the house smelled amazing while baking. next time i make this (which will be soon) i might try adding walnuts instead of (or along with) the chocolate. just a note that might be helpful to future bakers of this recipe: once i spread the batter into the pan i was concerned that i didnt have enough batter and almost moved it to a smaller pan... glad i stuck to your instructions... they were the perfect "thickness" in the end. thanks so much for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaysma January 07, 2010

Yum-tastic! These bars are awesome. I have never commented or reviewed a recipe before on any website but I could not go without sharing how great these are. I added a little bit of cinnamon and baked for 27 minutes in a glass 9x13 pan. They are cakey and yummy. My husband loves them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puhmeow August 17, 2009

This is another delicious way to use up ripen bananas. I followed the recipe using regular chocolate chips since that was all I had on hand. Was quite pleased with the results. If I were to change anything, I think I would add less chocolate chips. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
october sky August 02, 2009

Yum!! They're still cooling, but I stole a piece to see if I needed to put them in longer (at least that's the excuse I'm using), and this recipe is delicious! I cooked them for 25 minutes, because they started to brown quickly on the sides, and this made a very moist "cake-like" texture. Thanks for a great, tasty way to use up my too-ripe bananas :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldhill2 July 28, 2009

I used 3 different sized heart shaped pans for this recipe and then stacked them and decorated with buttercream icing for my sons birthday cake today. It was a hit! I think I will try this as bars also because it is a little drier, which makes it a perfect bar to dunk in some ice cold milk, YUM! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Theresa/Thunderbird!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DbKnadler January 26, 2008
Chocolate Chip Banana Bars