Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Chip Banana Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chip Banana Bars

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2013

      Turned out great. Kids love it. We cut the choc chips to 3/4 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Very nice flavor, with a light tender crumb! After reading the reviews, I reduced the chocolate chip amount to 1 cup, and added 1 cup toasted and chopped walnuts. I baked the bars in a 15x10 (dark) jellyroll pan at 325F for 25 minutes. The bars cut easily. Made (Chocolate Chip Banana Bars #230645 by Karen67) for the Help a Naked Recipe Event in the Photo Forum, September 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Excellent, a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I have tried alot of banana bread/bar recipes and this is my favorite. I used 2 8x8 baking pans and followed the recipe exactly. My cooking time was a little longer but that is because of my oven. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I made these bars using 2 large over riped bananas, but only using 1-1/2 cups of the miniature chocolate chips, plus I did add 1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon, (YES, I SAID 1 TABLESPOON OF CINNAMON) and then spreading the batter equally into 2-(8x8-inch) Teflon coated baking pans. I also topped each pan with a streusel topping, using the following ingredients: 1/4 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, and 2 tablespoons of melted butter, and dividing the mixture in half and among both baking pans. I baked the bars for exactly 38 minutes. I liked the streusel topping on the bars, and thought this will be good to eat as a coffee cake for breakfast. I bet these bars would also taste good adding a peanut butter frosting to them. I also wanted to mention, that when making these bars in 2 (8x8-inch) baking pans, I ended up with 24 bars. Karen, thank you for posting this recipe, as it helped me decide what to make with 2 over riped bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      i wanted to make banana bread but don't have a loaf pan - and i am not a "cake" person. this recipe definitely fit the bill. wow. i dont know if these actually came out 'right' (my oven is borked and i have to guess on temperature and rely heavily on toothpick testing) but they sure came out delicious! i used 4 1/2 small bananas because i had to use them up. i didn't have any chocolate chips so i chopped up a 200 g bar of milk chocolate. i decided to top it off before baking by halving this recipe for Streusel Topping so i omitted the powdered sugar. the final result was a "not quite as dense as a brownie, not nearly as fluffy as cake, not as dry as a loaf or a bread or crumbly like a muffin" pan of deliciousness - overall its what i would consider the PERFECT coffee cake. very moist and very full of flavour. the house smelled amazing while baking. next time i make this (which will be soon) i might try adding walnuts instead of (or along with) the chocolate. just a note that might be helpful to future bakers of this recipe: once i spread the batter into the pan i was concerned that i didnt have enough batter and almost moved it to a smaller pan... glad i stuck to your instructions... they were the perfect "thickness" in the end. thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Yum-tastic! These bars are awesome. I have never commented or reviewed a recipe before on any website but I could not go without sharing how great these are. I added a little bit of cinnamon and baked for 27 minutes in a glass 9x13 pan. They are cakey and yummy. My husband loves them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This is another delicious way to use up ripen bananas. I followed the recipe using regular chocolate chips since that was all I had on hand. Was quite pleased with the results. If I were to change anything, I think I would add less chocolate chips. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Yum!! They're still cooling, but I stole a piece to see if I needed to put them in longer (at least that's the excuse I'm using), and this recipe is delicious! I cooked them for 25 minutes, because they started to brown quickly on the sides, and this made a very moist "cake-like" texture. Thanks for a great, tasty way to use up my too-ripe bananas :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I used 3 different sized heart shaped pans for this recipe and then stacked them and decorated with buttercream icing for my sons birthday cake today. It was a hit! I think I will try this as bars also because it is a little drier, which makes it a perfect bar to dunk in some ice cold milk, YUM! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Theresa/Thunderbird!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      These were so good. I used two large bananas for this recipe, and combined with the chocolate chips had a nice minty flavour. I also found that when I wanted a fudgy texture to it, 20 minutes wasn't enough, it was still underdone at that point. Another 10 minutes made it fudgy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Made as directed and these were wonderful. Nice flavorful twist on the traditional choc chip bar! Thanks for a great keeper recipe, Karen!! 1-2-3 tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      These are too good! I had 3 medium bananas I needed to use up so I used all of them (which was more than one cup)but it definitely didn't affect these negatively. I also found that my 9 x 13 pan was dirty so used 2 8 x 8 inch pans and they turned out wonderful. These were easy to whip up, and they taste so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      thought these were dry. even melted choc chips on top. that helped but would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chip Banana Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1263 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 848.6
     
    Calories from Fat 374
    44%
    Total Fat 41.6 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 25.1 g
    125%
    Cholesterol 92.0 mg
    30%
    Sodium 543.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 121.3 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 80.8 g
    323%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites