Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Chess Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chess Squares

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2014

      These turned out great! Make sure u watch them tho because they only took 30 mins in my oven. I didnt have any vanilla flavoring so i omitted it and they were perfect without it. Not sure what the vanilla does for it but dont think they need it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I made these for my boyfriend and he could not stop raving. This is a mostly southern traditional dessert, and they are unheard of up here. He brought them into his office for his staff :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Disappointing. After reading all of the previous positive reviews, I had high hopes for these bars. I followed the recipe exactly...the chocolate layer was dry and the cream cheese layer was too souffle-like for my liking. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      When I was a teen, I worked in an ice cream shop and the owner made these bars t sell.. they are a favorite but I could never get the recipe right.. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This recipe was really easy to prepare. It was great! I made it for dessert tonight. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I wasn't sure if 16oz was to be measured by cup or weight, but thanks to the Q&A section, I went with weight and this cake turned out perfectly! It was super easy to make and made the entire house smell great! It was a fantastic sweet treat that we will certainly have again. Thanks so much for posting your recipe, we enjoyed it very much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      The only problem I had with this recipe is that it was gone too quickly!!! Everyone loved these squares, even the 2 family members who are picky about which sweets they'll eat. I couldn't believe the huge servings they were taking! This goes together so quickly I'll be repeating it often. My oven runs hot so I only needed just over 30 minutes of baking time before the topping got quite golden. I loved the crusty bit on top :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Very tasty! I used Splenda Blend in the cream cheese mixture and only 30 minutes of cooking time. It makes pretty dessert squares. This was a taste that we liked. Prepared for the 2008 Kathy/Liza Cook-athon in the Photo Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Great recipe to take for pot lucks and family get togethers... I shared with my cooking group and everyone loved them, so 2 thumbs up for this recipe! Thanks Kathy for sharing this quick and tasty dessert with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      This was not a hit at our house. While everyone took a piece and made polite noises, there was no swooning, no fighting to see who could hog the serving piece, no grabbing of seconds. Sorry....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      This review is long overdue! We loved this one - the teenager and his brother loved it and so did our guests! As you can guess it has seen a number of makings and enjoyed every time. Made as posted and wouldn't change a thing. Who would think adding a few ingredients to a cake mix could taste so good and please so many! Thank you Kathy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      I loved this recipe Kathy. I like that it started out using a cake mix, super easy to whip up. Course I love anything that has cream cheese in it somewhere. I have decided this will be what I will make for Thanksgiving to take to Virginia for the in law family. Wonderful recipe!! I think they may be ok frozen ahead of time and taken out when needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chess Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.3
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    33%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 24.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 265.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 28.6 g
    114%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes