Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Chess Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chess Pie

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      Truly and great pie. I have made chess pies and coconut chess pies all my life, but never a chcolate one. This one tastes so good. I loved this chocolate experience! Yes, Miss Bev, I did decorate the top of the slices with whipped cream. Not Cool Whip. I am glad I did because this wonderful pie deserved it. Thanks for posting and sharing this wonderful (to be used again and again) pie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      Made this for Thanksgiving and got rave reviews! Absolutely delicious. I served it with vanilla whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      yum! this is a great sweet chocolate treat and it's so easy!!! i didn't have evaporated milk, so i made my own (simmered regular over very low heat for about half an hour). this pie will definitely be made in my house again. it's hard to find an easy recipe for something this tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This is hands down the best chocolate pie I've ever had and my family all agrees. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I've made this pie about 5 times now. Each time it came out wonderful and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      A real keeper recipe!! Easy to make. It' comes out like a soft chewy brownie in a pie shell.....rich and yummy!! The recipe calls for the pie shell to be partially pre-baked. I baked for half the time called for on the pie shell package. Oh, and didn't have any unsalted butter so I just used salted and omitted the 1/4 t. salt called for in the recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      The first time I made this I messed it up. I wasn't sure what type of four to use so I used all-purpose with a little baking soda. I also used a had mixed to prepare the filling. This pie puffed up in the oven and the middle took a very long time to cook. After it was removed the top formed a crusty cracked surface. The pie still tasted good, but I felt it wasn't quite right. Next try, I used all-purpose flour, no levener and simply used a whisk to blend. This looked beautiful and tasted great. I used Mean's Classic Pie Crust, recipes #26205 both times. Thank you for the great recipe. It is definitely a keeper, after I did it right :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This is incredibly good! I can't even describe it; it is almost liquid in the center, but not runny. It sort of dissolves in your mouth yet it has an almost crispy top crust. It's light but rich. I told you I couldn't describe it. But, Oh! It is so good. Probably the best chocolate pie I have ever eaten and definitely the best chocolate pie I've ever made. And, easy? As easy as, well, you know. This is definitely in my permanent file. Thanks a gazillion, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I followed the recipe exactly and even though I was a bit worried when I initially poured the pie in the shell (it didn't seem to come together very well and had bits of floating butter) it came out AMAZING. I love the top "crust" with the silky center. I was also debating to use this recipe or the Angus Barn one (with the chopped chocolate vs. the cocoa powder) because I was thinking the cocoa powder wouldn't have the same rich chocolaty flavor I was looking for but it definitely does. I love this recipe and will be making it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Made this twice over the holidays. My family loved the brownie taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      DH really liked this pie I baked for his birthday. Is very thick and fudgy. Easy to cook too. Thanks Bev, YaYa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      One word... YUMMMY! This was the 1st pie I ever made and it turned out fantastic! I can't wait to make it again. I am so happy to add this delicious pie to my personal recipe box. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      I made this for Christmas 2011. It was a BIG hit. I used dark chocolate,Splenda, and added 1 TBL of corn meal. This is a must to make again and again. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. Happy New Year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This was as good as the lava cake you get at domino's....Chocolaty. It was a big hit. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      This was so simple & so fantastic! I took it to work & everyone thought I worked really hard at it. It got great reviews from everyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Oh my goodness! This was so good that it will hurt you! Thanks so much for the recipe. I had never had this before and it was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      This was really good & easy. It probably needs a deep dish pie shell. I tripled the recipe and got 4 regular-sized pies from it. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This is the first pie I have attempted to make and it turned out DELICIOUS! My man has decided to make it a weekly staple...thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Delicious! Made this as a last minute addition to Christmas dinner. Easy, with perfect results. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      tried this for the first time tonight and the family loves it
      this is the richest one I have ever made

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chess Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 520.7
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    42%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 126.1 mg
    42%
    Sodium 313.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 50.2 g
    200%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites