49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very close family friend shared this recipe with me a few years ago. I include these in my gift boxes of "goodies" that I give at Christmas. They are a delicious, soft and fudgy cookie with a delightful cherry inside. If you are a cherry fan I think you will be pleased with this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby May 26, 2003

Very yummy. They come out of the oven a bit hard, but soften up once cooled and stored. The frosting/topping cools and gets hard pretty quickly. I made 2 sheets worth of the bottoms then put cherries and topping on. I had to rewarm and add more cherry juice for the next 2 sheets as it set up in between.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth K - Psuedo Chef December 31, 2013

This is a very nice Christmas cookie. It taste like a Devil's Food cookie that I have eaten before. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 07, 2013

This is my absolute favorite cookie! I found the recipe on BHG.com and I make batches and batches every year to give out as Christmas gifts because they are so good! I follow the recipe exactly and I've never had a problem with them. They remind me of the Snack Wells Devil's Food cookies with a cherry in the middle. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness December 02, 2010

Fabulous Recipe! I had lost it from a cookie exchange years ago and was sooo happy to have found it again. These cookies get RAVE reviews from all my family and friends. The cookies are moist and delicious and hold together very well. The icing covers the cherries perfectly. Maybe let the icing cool a bit before covering the cherries. These are by far my most requested recipe this year! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mopage7 December 27, 2009

I made these for a cookie exchange last week. I'm not sure why it happened but the cookies were really soft and broke very easily (I did bake them the specified length of time and my oven thermometer showed that it was at the specified temp.). I drained the cherries on paper towels, so I don't think that there was too much moisture there. I was expecting the chocolate frosting to "stay put" but after baking, the cherries were peeking out of the frosting. I was told that the cookies tasted good. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm December 06, 2009

This recipe is just okay. I'm a avid baker and I wasn't thrilled about them. I love chocolate covered cherries and so does my Dad. I brought some over to share with the family and Mom said they were "okay" (another great baker), sister liked them, and Dad said, "They could do without the cherry and might taste better." This is coming from a guy that receives a box of chocolate covered cherries from everyone in the family at xmas because he LOVES them! This is not a recipe I will keep. I have so many more that are so much better. Sorry to rain on everyone's parade.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURA F. October 16, 2009

I made this recipe about 20 years ago and never forgot these cookies. Came online hoping to find the recipe to make them for Valentine's Day and here they are! And apparently everyone loves them as much as I did. Thanks for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loricello February 12, 2009

I made thise as part of my cookie tray. My son and daughter inhaled them. This recipe is a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiingpeaches January 11, 2009

Absolutely amazingly deliciously decadent! Somewhat like a moist and fudgey brownie bite topped with a chocolate covered cherry. Definitely a keeper, thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmet_girl January 10, 2009
Chocolate Cherry Cookies