Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cherry Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cherry Cookies

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2003

      A very close family friend shared this recipe with me a few years ago. I include these in my gift boxes of "goodies" that I give at Christmas. They are a delicious, soft and fudgy cookie with a delightful cherry inside. If you are a cherry fan I think you will be pleased with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Very yummy. They come out of the oven a bit hard, but soften up once cooled and stored. The frosting/topping cools and gets hard pretty quickly. I made 2 sheets worth of the bottoms then put cherries and topping on. I had to rewarm and add more cherry juice for the next 2 sheets as it set up in between.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      This is a very nice Christmas cookie. It taste like a Devil's Food cookie that I have eaten before. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      This is my absolute favorite cookie! I found the recipe on BHG.com and I make batches and batches every year to give out as Christmas gifts because they are so good! I follow the recipe exactly and I've never had a problem with them. They remind me of the Snack Wells Devil's Food cookies with a cherry in the middle. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Fabulous Recipe! I had lost it from a cookie exchange years ago and was sooo happy to have found it again. These cookies get RAVE reviews from all my family and friends. The cookies are moist and delicious and hold together very well. The icing covers the cherries perfectly. Maybe let the icing cool a bit before covering the cherries. These are by far my most requested recipe this year! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I made these for a cookie exchange last week. I'm not sure why it happened but the cookies were really soft and broke very easily (I did bake them the specified length of time and my oven thermometer showed that it was at the specified temp.). I drained the cherries on paper towels, so I don't think that there was too much moisture there. I was expecting the chocolate frosting to "stay put" but after baking, the cherries were peeking out of the frosting. I was told that the cookies tasted good. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      This recipe is just okay. I'm a avid baker and I wasn't thrilled about them. I love chocolate covered cherries and so does my Dad. I brought some over to share with the family and Mom said they were "okay" (another great baker), sister liked them, and Dad said, "They could do without the cherry and might taste better." This is coming from a guy that receives a box of chocolate covered cherries from everyone in the family at xmas because he LOVES them! This is not a recipe I will keep. I have so many more that are so much better. Sorry to rain on everyone's parade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I made this recipe about 20 years ago and never forgot these cookies. Came online hoping to find the recipe to make them for Valentine's Day and here they are! And apparently everyone loves them as much as I did. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I made thise as part of my cookie tray. My son and daughter inhaled them. This recipe is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Absolutely amazingly deliciously decadent! Somewhat like a moist and fudgey brownie bite topped with a chocolate covered cherry. Definitely a keeper, thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      These are my favorite cookies ever!! I've been making them for years and they are the best!!! Nice and moist and very tasty. Thanks for sharing Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I was searching the database as I was going to post the recipe. This is one of my annual holiday recipes originally found in a BHG Christmas book many years ago. It is a very tasty cookie always enjoyed by family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This recipe is a KEEPER! Took them to work and got RAVE reviews. Will try using the frosting portion of the recipe on cherry chocolate brownies...that should be awesome! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      These are so good! I messed up a little and used 4 tablespoons of cherry juice instead of 4 teaspoons so I just barely covered the cherries with the frosting and then added more after they came out of the oven. They turned out really good though. No sticking or soupy frosting even with my mistake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      These were a hit with my family! I'm not sure if I'll have enough to give away. I like how the semisweet chocolate balances with the cookie and the cherry. My 6 year old DS helped and we had a good time. I used parchment paper on the cookie sheets for easy clean up and no chance of sticking to the pan. I might add a little bit of cherry flavoring to the cookie dough next time and see how it turns out since I can't leave any recipe alone. I got 36 cookies out of the batch I made. I've added these to my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I've been making these for quite a few years. I would be disowned by all if they were not on my Christmas cookie tray. I always double the recipe in order to use the whole can of SC milk and use the whole bag of chips. Make sure you do NOT use milk choc. chips, MUST be semisweet or the frosting will run off, and the flavor is not as good. I also don't skimp on the frosting, if you put it over the cherry in a swirling motion it covers nicely and covers the whole cookie as it bakes. Anyone who tries them loves them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Even though I am one of the people that believe chocolate and cherries are good seperate but not together, these were still pretty good. I sent the rest to the U.S Military where it got high approval ratings!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      These were a really nice change to the traditional cookie! when i first made them, i think i made them a little too big, but i have requests to make them again, so i will, and make them more bite size. :) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      One of my all time favorite cookies. I normally feel that chocolate cookies are over powering, but these were lovely. Very delicate and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      I made this recipe out of a magazine several years ago. I had forgotten about it, though, so I was delighted to run across it here. They were delicious cookies and were a wonderful addition to holiday treat trays. I hope to make them again this Christmas. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cherry Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1222 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 93.8
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    35%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 43.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites