Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cherry Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cherry Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2002

      OH so moist and ever so delicious! Made this for my Dh's birthday cake and everyone was asking for a second piece. It was so simple to make too, and very delicious! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      As somebody who normally makes everything from scratch, especially anthing with chocolate, I found this recipe incredibly easy and remarkably delicious. I used coffee instead of the water and added two teaspoons of Almond Extract. It was wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I made this for my DH when he was away for business so when he came home to a cherry chocolate cake he was ecstatic to say the least! He loves cherries and so do I, we both really enjoyed this. I only mixed 4-6 oz of the cream cheese to the frosting and mixed the rest with powdered sugar to decorate the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This was a very nice moist cake, however, I was expecting a more powerful cherry flavor and for me it wasn't there. But it still was a good cake and we did enjoy it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Very nice cake, I didn't do frosting though. As I didn't have frosting on hand. I used vanilla pudding and cool whip for a quick frosting and added another can of pie filling to the top of the cake, kinda like a black forest cake. I did make the cake as directed and it turned out great. I took it to a church function last night and it was the only cake that was completely gone by the end of the night. Thank you for a nice recipe that I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I had to give a speech over how to make a cake in my speech class and I used this cake as the example. It is really easy to make and one that pretty much anyone will enjoy. I made mine a round double layer cake though, and I decorated it by drizzling it with white chocolate and putting maraschino cherries around the bottom edge of the cake. It looked awesome and tasted amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      good cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      I am rating your chocolate/cream cheese frosting that I used on White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake. This frosting is a cinch to put together and tastes rich and is thick and creamy. I was a little concerned with other reviewers comments that the 8 oz. of cream cheese would overpower the chocolate frosting, but it didn't at all. I used a Betty Crocker dark chocolate frositng and the flavors balanced very well. Thanks for an easy, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I loved the idea of using canned frosting and mixing it with cream cheese. I was a little short on time to make a birthday cake, so I couldn't make homemade frosting. I used it on Sue B's Chocolate Cake, and it was so good. My aunties kept asking me, What kind of frosting is that? And all I said was, It's a secret. Thanks for a great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      This was a awesome dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      made this for a support group and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      This was easy and yummy! I love chocolate and have found another great way to have it. My son who never wants to try something new - devoured it. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      This was a fantastic recipe. I do not like chocolate cake, but I loved this one! I made if for a birthday party and it was the first time the whole cake was eaten and people asking for more. I will have to make two next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      This is a great recipe! There was a bit too much of a cream cheese taste for me, so I held back a bit on that when blending it with the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      i made this weeks ago and forgot to review it. i used vegetable oil instead of olive oil. threw in a teaspoon of almond extract and used your frosting idea. good cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      I made this for thanksgiving/DH's b-day and it was a big hit. Loved the cherries throughout the cake, delish. I used almond oil instead of olive to enhance that cherry flavour and used almost a full container of cream cheese but only about half the chocolate icing in the can and it turned out to be plenty and not too sweet. Quick, easy, yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      The "cake" part of this cake was wonderful; however, this icing was too sweet for me. I made it a second time and used the icing from the "Texas Sheet Cake" which you spread on while the cake is still warm. To me, that offered a much better icing for this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      I made this yesterday for a potluck supper at my church with excellent results. I felt that the olive oil would have too strong a flavour so I used canola oil instead. I used a Betty Crocker Devil's Food cake mix as that is the only kind we can get over here and a can of Waitrose Cherry fruit filling, which is the same as cherry pie filling. I have used a recipe similar to this in the past that used only 2 eggs, and no water, but thought I would give your version a try and was very pleased. Everyone scarfed it down in double time and brought home an empty dish. I also got very lazy with the frosting and used canned Betty Crocker Fudge frosting, but will try your version next time. I also didn't use cherries to garnish, but M&M's. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      My family loved the cherry pie filling in this cake. I have already gotten a request for another one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      This cake was great. I brought as a dessert to TG dinner. It was very freshly baked when we served it and a few of us could taste the olive oil. But the next day the left overs were great!! I think next time i make this i will either us veg oil or bake 12 hrs ahead of time. P.s. I also cheated and used the pre made chocolate and cream cheese frosting. I thought it was great. Someone will have to let me know if it is as good as the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cherry Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (1787 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4395.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2053
    46%
    Total Fat 228.2 g
    351%
    Saturated Fat 73.1 g
    365%
    Cholesterol 807.9 mg
    269%
    Sodium 5380.6 mg
    224%
    Total Carbohydrate 559.4 g
    186%
    Dietary Fiber 16.1 g
    64%
    Sugars 208.5 g
    834%
    Protein 65.4 g
    130%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chocolate frosting

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes