Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cherry Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cherry Cake

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2003

      I made this one this weekend and it was wonderful!! Because I wanted more of a bar than a cake (see PatD's review) I used a Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie mix. We were out of almond extract so I omitted it (good excuse to make them again - must do it right to be fair you know ). The brownies were dense and moist. Warning note: If, as I am, you are trying to increase protein and reduce carbs, this is an extremely dangerous and murderously tempting dessert. Run away - I just couldn't! Thanks for posting this one!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      Delicious! I made it as a Valentine's treat for my boyfriend who LOVES chocolate and cherries. It was a big hit! And very easy. I think I earned extra points for making the icing (as described here) from scratch - I'll be using that alone for other recipes, too! <br/>I was a little unclear if I was supposed to add the other ingredients that the chocolate fudge cake mix box called for. Reading this recipe, it didn't seem like I was supposed to, but using just the egg and the mix and the cherries seemed like an awfully dry mixture, so I added a little water and all was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      This cake is absolutely scruptious and so easy to make. I made it according to the recipe shown and baked it in a bundt pan. It turned out beautiful and tasted great. Several in the group I made it for said it was the best cake they'd ever tasted. Thanks for sharing! This one is a keeper. (I also made it w/yellow cake mix and apple pie filling - still good but the chocolate is best).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I make this exact same cake recipe, without the frosting. I bake it in a bundt pan, then just sprinkle with powdered sugar or drizzle with a basic chocolate glaze. This is MUCH better the second day, by the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I LOVE this cake! And so does everyone I've ever made it for! I like the cherries crushed so I mix it with my KitchenAid stand mixer, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it is wonderful! The cake is so moist and the frosting is incredible. I will never buy frosting in a can again, this recipe is so easy to make and is better than any can frosting! Thank you for posting this recipe - it has become a favorite that I will continue to make. I think I will try some of the cake and pie filling variations as someone else mentioned! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      My husband is not a big cherry fan, but loved this. I made it exactly as printed, mixed it in my KitchenAid, and the cherries broke into small bits, so there were cherries in every bite! I was afraid that the frosting/glaze would be too thin, but it stayed where it was put and was perfect. I made mine in a standard bundt pan, and not only did it taste wonderful, but it looks great too (for as long as it lasts!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      The cake was good, but I could hardly taste the cherries. The icing was very sweet and fudgy.I used a can of black cherry filling that time, then I made this as a layer cake for a birthday and frosted it with a chocolate cream cheese frosting and it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      This cake did not have enough of a cherry flavor, I could barely taste it at all. I'm going to try it again and use cherry extract along with the almond extract, because the cake itself came out good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I made your recipe for my daughter's 5th birthday party. The only difference was making it into cupcakes. She said they were "AWESOME"! I was worried the kids wouldn't eat them with the cherries inside, but they all did. I actually had more trouble with the adults... But those who tried them loved them! (The icing was *super* sweet - I found it didn't need much at all)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      WOW!!! Duckit, thanks for sharing! I didn't have almond extract so I used vanilla and it worked well. This is a keeper for sure! A++++++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Thank you for this recipe. I had it many years ago and lost it when I moved. It's like an old friend...so nice to have it back. The only difference is mine said to frost it while hot. Which ever way you do it I know it's a great cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      I made this recipe for a girl that my husband works with as it was her birthday. Now, I NEVER went into detail to my husband about how it was made...but I called him to see if everyone enjoyed it and the first thing he said was "Everyone loved it and they couldn't stop talking about how good the frosting was"... So, there is the proof!!! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be sure to use this again and pass it on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I have been making this recipe for years...glad to see it on recipezaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Oh my gosh, this is our new FAVORITE dessert! Took 'picky eaters' advice and used large box of Betty Crocker brownie mix with chocolate syrup packet and Comstock ORIGINAL cherry pie filling. Mixed by hand very gently so that cherries remain whole. Slightly underbaked in 13X9. Results were amazing. Try it...you'll love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      I have been baking this for many many years...I also use other flavors of cake mixes with complimentary pie filling, ex:yellow cake mix with apple pie filling...all simple and delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      I made mine in a bundt cake--only needed 1/2 the frosting...delicious and moist, I could eat the whole thing!! So easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      Yummy. I have been making this cake for years, and it was a big hit with the men at work when I took it to a food day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      This is my husband's favorite cake although I make it with a fudge cake mix. The frosting is to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      These were a hit at my dessert party last week! (And almost embarrassingly easy to make, too!) I was hoping for more of a bar-like consistency, so next time I'll try PatD's suggestion of using a brownie mix instead of the cake. I'm still dreaming about that sinfully delicious chocolate glaze. YUM! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      SOOOOooooooo yummy!! I'm eating one as I'm writing this. It got rave reviews from guests last night--everyone asked how to make it. Very easy, too!! I'll definitely make this often!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cherry Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.3
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    36%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 33.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 51.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 18.2 g
    73%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chocolate fudge cake

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites