33 Reviews

This was great - the kids loved it as well as the adults. I melted 3/4 cup chocolate chips and added that to the cream cheese mixture then added another 3/4 cup of chocolate chips too. It was very good - even gave out the recipe to a guest at the party. Thanks Lennie!!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeAnn April 01, 2002

Excellent Lennie! Wow! If I had an option for more than 5 stars, i'd use it! I got raves from everyone at the party. I have never made a "cheeseball" before, because my husband doesn't like cheese, so i always have to disguise it in recipes and the word "cheeseball" does not lend itself to disguise very easily! LOL He does, however, like cream cheese. So when i found this recipe, i knew it would be a hit! I have to tell everyone tho, that while shopping for the ingredients, specifically the graham crackers, i found a new kind of graham to use. I originally knew that i would be using chocolate flavored grahams, but i also spotted the new "Honey Maid Honey Stix". They are PERFECT for the cheeseball! The stix are the size and shape of small baby teething biscuits, are honey flavored with a little sugar sprinkled on top and are strong enough to scoop the cheeseball without breaking. You can also purchase them in cinnamon flavor, which i will try next time (using both of the stix flavors and omitting the regular grahams altogether). I loved this recipe so much that i am making it again for camping this weekend! I could just go on and on raving about this recipe, but i won't. I'll just say to everyone, If you like cream cheese, TRY THIS!!! You will not be sorry!

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 14, 2002

Creamy, chocolatey, delicious!! And easy to do - a great make-ahead appetizer. I added the melted chips (as in Leeann's review) and it was a great hit at a birthday party. Already gave the recipe out three times!! Will definitely make again for my chocoholic friends! Thanks!!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee April 29, 2002

OH MY GOODNESS! Lennie you have out done yourself with this recipe. It was out of this world delicious! It was simple to make. I went with LeeAnn's suggestion of adding the melted chocolate and then I also added about 1/2 cup of mini chips to the cream cheese mixture. I used the cinnamon graham cracker stix. Although my daughter thought that process was too slow and just got herself a spoon and dug in. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug November 13, 2002

We served this cheese ball at DD's wedding reception this past weekend. I had never tried a cheese ball with chocolate before and really wasn't sure how it would taste. Since DD is a chocolate nut, I decided to give it a try. It was a huge success with everyone! The cheese ball is so delicious with the graham crackers....I could have eaten the whole thing by myself. I can't wait to have another occasion to make this. Heck, I might not even wait for a special occasion! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess April 03, 2003

I made this recipe following Leanne's idea of adding melted chocolate. This made the cheeseball!! Even though I used mini chocolate chips I found they got in the way of spreading and would maybe just leave them out next time and just add the melted chocolate. I used sugar cookies and it was delicious! Way to go Lennie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shemarie00 December 30, 2003

This is very, very rich. The flavor is similiar to cheesecake. I prepared this with an assortment of other snacks for my god-daughter's sleep over. The girls spread this on regular and chocolate teddy grahams. They loved it. Do to the rich flavor, a little does go a long way though.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. November 07, 2003

I have never made a cheese ball before. I served this at a 25th wedding anniversary, people either loved it or hated it, (we think it is just like a cheesecake, so be began asking those who hated it if they like cheesecake.....they also did not like cheesecake) Those of us who love cheesecake LOVED IT! Thanks, I will be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis May 24, 2003

I absolutely love this!! I don't roll it in nuts though. Instead, I roll it in more mini-choc chips. I serve it with the chocolate Graham Cracker Stix the sell in the grocery store. I make this at least once a month and I eat most of it myself. After all, cream cheese is good for you. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lael Bagnall March 04, 2004

I made this for a Super Bowl party. Over half of it was left over. Not sure if we just had too much food overall and that is the reason, or is people just didn't really like it. My expectations were just higher than the recipe turned out to be. Still pretty tasty though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colby's Mom February 04, 2004
Chocolate Cheese Ball