11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum, these are so delicious! I absolutely loved these. I am a huge fan of the chocolate chai combo, so I was really excited to try these. That said, I needed to make them gluten free, which worked out wonderfully. A few notes on what I did in case any other gf people also love chocolate chai :) I used a gluten free chocolate cake mix (slight difference in size - 15 oz - but kept the rest of the ingredients the same anyway). I baked each batch for 11 minutes on my silpat mat and let them rest for a few minutes on the cookie sheet before moving to a cooling rack. This created cookies with a gorgeous crispy outside and soft delicious inside. I used the chai ingredients listed rather than a premade mix and the separate white and semisweet chocolate chips, since I already had them on hand. I couldn't resist trying one warm out of the oven - soooo good, but plenty sweet so I skipped the drizzle. Just loved these! Thanks so much for sharing! ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews August 29, 2012

Such a great cookie recipe. Absolutely loved it, and so did my friends. I used the actual recipe, instead of the chai latte mix, and I loved it. And they were chewy too, which suited the cookies just fine. The drizzle was a nice touch too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef August 27, 2012

These are a great bursting with flavor cookie that are very simple to make especially if using a stand mixer. I used your "note" and used the swirled chips and used the individual spices as listed. They are pretty sweet on their own so I did skip on the drizzle of icing and that made it easier to pack in lunches too. I did not have any issues with the cookies being flat like the one reviewer - I really think it is based on the cake mix you use. Some of the cake mix recipes you can use the cheaper mixes but others you can't and with this asking for a butter based cake mix I think you need a good mix. Found and made during ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom August 22, 2012

Wonderful and easy . My cake mix was vanilla and I did not do the drizzle - very yummy indeed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew May 29, 2010

This is a GREAT cookie. Used a DIY instant chai latte mix. Very good flavor & texture :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindsaynscott November 06, 2009

A lot of different flavors in this cookie. I omitted the glaze as it would have ben too much and I used all semi-sweet choc. chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristen Porter December 20, 2008

These were a big hit. Yummy yummy! Be sure to use a stand mixer, the batter is quite thick, it proved to be too much for my hand mixer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsune January 02, 2008

I particularly wanted to comment on this recipe because I didn't want Sally B's bad review to be the most recent one! I think she might have used a poor cake mix, because I followed the directions exactly and the cookies came out fluffy and light. I appreciated Muffin Goddess's note on step #9 - this saved a lot of time. In all, these cookies were very unique - a light, cakey texture with a spicy zing. The two different chocolates are a must to round out the balance of flavors. I do think that the cookies can do without the drizzle because they're quite sweet as is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrabKokonas May 01, 2007

I love chocolate and chai tea, so I was really looking forward to making these cookies. I'm not sure if it's the brand of cake mix that I used, but the cookies were as flat as a pancake after taking them out of the oven. The spices were really overpowering and the cookies were way too sweet with the drizzle. Unfortunately I won't be making these again. I didn't even want to take them to work to share.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally B December 20, 2006

Absolutely wonderful. A nice exotic flavor. My family and I loved them. Thank you for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollyvf August 22, 2006
Chocolate Chai Latte Cookies