18 Reviews

I made this last year as a mother's day gift, for my mom, who love Snickers Bars. I found the recipe in the Dec/Jan 1998 issue of TOH, submitted by Jane Meek. They are time consuming, but as has been said before they are worth the effort. I also thought that they were easier to cut at room temperature, after the last stage of refrigeration, of course.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 February 19, 2011

I made this from my TOH magazine several years ago. They are very good. You may want to cut them in very small pieces as it's very rich. I also didn't care for the butterscotch chips, so in the future I'll use semi-sweet choc chips. It is also time consuming, but makes a lot. It has been well received as Christmas goodies. I wanted to include in my review that I like to dip the pieces in melted chocolate. The caramel doesn't ooze out and they are more like a candy bar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Cooky December 05, 2010

Delicious!! When I was working on the caramel section, I thought it looked to thick so I added an extra T of cream...big mistake. The caramel ended up being a little too gooey. Stick to the recipe as is. I will definetly make these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneBusyMomma December 22, 2009

These are amazing. For all you snicker lovers, this is the treat for you. It does taste like a snicker candy bar. Loved sharing these, cuz otherwise I would have eaten them ALL! thank for sharing this decedent recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 25, 2012

Loved these! I didn't care for the butterscotch so I just made up the difference with milk chocolate chips. These are awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taxi Mom January 01, 2012

I wish I could give this 500 stars! This is so yummy! Hubby and I both agree we would rather eat this than buy a Snickers bar!! It also looks really fancy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoleneC December 26, 2009

This stuff is amazing! It tastes just like a snickers bar! My husband could not stop eating it! I didn't have any caramels when I made it, so I just made a batch of the caramel I usually use for caramel popcorn balls, only I didn't cook it long enough...so at room temperature the caramel oozed out the sides of the the fudge...didn't look pretty, but still tasted delicious! Next time I will try using wrapped caramels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen November 24, 2009

Ohhhhh is this good! Best fudge ever. The only thing I didnt like about it was the butterscotch chips. You can taste it and its a bit much so next time I will omitt that or add white chocolate instead. Fantastic though and thanks for posting. I will making this for a lifetime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny October 11, 2009

This is one delicious candy bar! I made this and took 1/4 each to the schools. I had rave reviews from both places. I did use carmel dip rather than melt the carmel and cream. I could eat this every day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound December 17, 2008

such an indulgent fudge :P one of the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelina 9 November 10, 2008
Chocolate Caramel Candy