9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this cake for my husband's birthday today. I thought the batter was a little thick so I added about 2 tbs. of milk and threw in a handful of chocolate chips just for fun! My cake took longer than 25 min...not sure how long, maybe 35-40. It's probably our old oven though. I thought this was a nice lighter cake, not too rich and not too sweet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
browniepie October 14, 2006

I really liked this cake. I think I baked it just a little too long, mine was a bit dry. I added maybe a quarter cup of extra cocoa, used two 8" rounds, and used this frosting: http://www.food.com/recipe/chocolate-frosting-348737
It really was good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beansandnachos September 13, 2011

simple n easy n very moist

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penyulawa June 26, 2007

These was good. A nice chocolate flavor. I wouldn't really recommend this cake for a layer cake because the cake was quite thin. I also used Cherry Filling for Cake Cherry Filling for Cake for the filling and frosting. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef July 12, 2006

Very moist & easy to make. I took this cake to work and got rave reviews. I used cooking spray instead of greasing and flouring the pan and it worked beautifully. Will definitely use this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel in NC April 26, 2005

Easy to put together, with ingredients right from the pantry. I baked this in the 13 x 9 in pan and it was done exactly at 25 minutes. I iced it with a simple icing sugar glaze-- made a tasty snack. Thanks for posting !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx July 30, 2004

I read the reviews that it was kinda bland...
So I doubled the cocoa, and added half a bar of melted Ghirardelli Bittersweet in the batter. Also I always add about a cup of applesauce to every cake I make. It came out wonderful. I topped it with a light cream cheese peppermint frosting. And served it for Christmas. I got a million compliments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CakesByLova December 25, 2010

I followed this recipe as stated and it sucked. It was bland and flavorless. Not my favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingbaby October 19, 2010
Chocolate Cake