Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2006

      I made this cake for my husband's birthday today. I thought the batter was a little thick so I added about 2 tbs. of milk and threw in a handful of chocolate chips just for fun! My cake took longer than 25 min...not sure how long, maybe 35-40. It's probably our old oven though. I thought this was a nice lighter cake, not too rich and not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      I really liked this cake. I think I baked it just a little too long, mine was a bit dry. I added maybe a quarter cup of extra cocoa, used two 8" rounds, and used this frosting: http://www.food.com/recipe/chocolate-frosting-348737
      It really was good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      simple n easy n very moist

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      These was good. A nice chocolate flavor. I wouldn't really recommend this cake for a layer cake because the cake was quite thin. I also used Cherry Filling for Cake Cherry Filling for Cake for the filling and frosting. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Very moist & easy to make. I took this cake to work and got rave reviews. I used cooking spray instead of greasing and flouring the pan and it worked beautifully. Will definitely use this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      Easy to put together, with ingredients right from the pantry. I baked this in the 13 x 9 in pan and it was done exactly at 25 minutes. I iced it with a simple icing sugar glaze-- made a tasty snack. Thanks for posting !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      I read the reviews that it was kinda bland...
      So I doubled the cocoa, and added half a bar of melted Ghirardelli Bittersweet in the batter. Also I always add about a cup of applesauce to every cake I make. It came out wonderful. I topped it with a light cream cheese peppermint frosting. And served it for Christmas. I got a million compliments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I followed this recipe as stated and it sucked. It was bland and flavorless. Not my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3557.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1108
    31%
    Total Fat 123.2 g
    189%
    Saturated Fat 30.7 g
    153%
    Cholesterol 558.0 mg
    186%
    Sodium 2650.7 mg
    110%
    Total Carbohydrate 566.3 g
    188%
    Dietary Fiber 14.7 g
    59%
    Sugars 351.0 g
    1404%
    Protein 52.6 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites