Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-54 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2004

      Wonderful cake when fresh, but it was a little dry the next day. I served it with whipped cream because my husband isn't a frosting lover. It was great for dessert after dinner, but when I went to serve it the next day (even after keeping it well covered), it was a bit dry. I'm sure I didn't overcook it. I'll try it again, but perhaps frost it and see if that helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      This is a very moist and yummy cake! It was certainly easy to put together and turned out beautifully. I baked it in a 9 x 13 inch pan for 30 minutes and frosted it with wildheart's Mocha Fudge Icing #23636. Thanks Cindy Lynn for a great new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      I used hazelnut flavored coffee and it gave the cake great, subtle flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      Very good and easy cake recipe. I shared this with my husband's family and they all loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      this looked easy and I wanted to try to use ingredients that were a bit more on the healthy side since I have High sugar and cholesterol blood levels. I substituded sugar with Splenda, flour with Soy Flour, margarine with Smart Balance, and eggs with egg beaters. I'm not sure how to describe the taste. At first I didn't like it as much, then it grew on me. My only problem with it was that it turned out really, really dense, it wasn't airy and fluffy. If anyone knows what I can do different to make it fluffy, please let me know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      Yummy, I made a 2-layer cake with this and filled and topped with chocolate frosting for my friends birthday...everyone throughly enjoyed it and said I should go to college to be a chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      Easy and fantastic! I had to use yogurt for the buttermilk, which we can't get here, and no problem. The cake rose beautifully, and I have been giving the recipe to a bunch of French people who loved it as a birthday cake. I may never make another chocolate cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      I was looking for an easy light cake for my husband and this really was easy, I just mixed all the ingredients in one bowl. The cake turned out nice and I made Rita's chocolate icing to top it off. I baked this in a 9x13 pan. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      I was looking for a very quick to make, very chocolaty cake and this recipe was perfect! I made exactly as directed, using the boiling water instead of the coffee. This cake is moist, wonderfully flavorful and was ready in exactly 40 minutes (using a 9 x13" glass pan). I used MizzNezz's Creamy Chocolate Frosting Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies to top it off. Wonderful combination! Thanks for a great recipe, Cindy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      Superb! Moist and delicious! This will be my last stop in my search for a chocolate cake recipe! Everyone loved it. I used chocolate icing (recipe 31037) and it definately is the best chocolate cake I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      Yum! This cake was great-and easy too! My boys raved about it! They made comments such as \

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      Moist and delicious best describes this cake. I used Nana's chocolate frosting recipe by Mizz Nezz ontop of the cake and it tasted like something you would pay $5-$8. for at a restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      I made this for my husband's birthday, good cake! Very moist and not too sweet, cooked about 35 min in 9x13 pan. Really good, next time might add some chocolate chips too, just for kicks. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      I don't know what I did wrong "sign".... The cake smelled great, but it collapsed on me as it cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    24%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 37.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 426.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 27.5 g
    110%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites