55 Reviews

My O my! this is so simple and tasty too..Thanks for posting:)My cooking mood in full swing now..;)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salina® August 28, 2002

sooo easy!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rita n/a October 30, 2002

Yum. This cake is amazing because it changes texture as time goes on. Day one it's very dense, almost too heavy, day two it's perfect in my opinion, moist and still quite dense, day three it becomes light, day four even lighter, but didn't taste stale at all (that was the last piece so don't know about day five!). Made 2/3rds the recipe and baked for 25mins in two 7.5 inch round tins. Will definately be made again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EnglishRose April 07, 2010

I had an extra cup of coffee and some buttermilk that needed to be used up, so this was the perfect recipe. However, I only had 3/4 of margarine so I used butter for the last 1/4 cup. I made cupcakes, filling them between 1/2 and 2/3 of the way full with batter. They baked up perfectly in 15 minutes and tasted great with a whipped icing. The only thing I may do differently is add a little more cocoa next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom May 19, 2015

Best. Chocolate. Cake. EVER!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Incredibly easy and VERY moist. Normally, I am not a fan of chocolate cake (I made this for a birthday party), but I will definitely be making this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prana Princess October 28, 2011

Excellent, easy, one bowl recipe. I just used a hand whisk and it worked fine (I also added extra cocoa after reading other reviews).

I'm vegan so i used egg replacer powder instead of eggs (and soy milk mixed with one teaspoon of cider vinegar - stood for 5mins - in place of buttermilk).

For other vegans/dairy or egg free folk this worked brilliantly and i can confirm this is the best choc cake recipe i've ever come across!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodievegan January 16, 2011

it is extremely tasty, though I have to say similar to a previous user that the cake tastes better on the second day in the fridge than on the first day, strangely enough. also extremely easy to make. I made a few changes: used brown sugar instead of white, no baking soda, so just used baking powder, no buttermilk, so I used this recipe I found on ehow
http://www.ehow.com/how_4828612_buttermilk-vinegar.html

which worked fine. also I added more vanilla cuz I love vanilla

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heejin October 02, 2010

Realmente DELICIOSO, es una receta muy facil y rapida de preparar. En el cumpleanos de mi hija le hice este ponque de chocolate, y todos los invitados quedaron facinados , mi hija quiere que le prepare otro igual para llevar al trabajo y compartirlo con todos los ninos, con seguridad que todos querran repetir. Muchas gracias por esta receta

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YOYITA in Shropshire ENGLAND April 05, 2008

Made awesome cupcakes! Baked for 20 minutes. Followed the suggestion in other review and topped with Recipe 89207 chocolate frosting which was great and just the right amount of frosting for the cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlamelo August 25, 2013

Sorry, this cake just did not cut it. It was very dense and chewy, the coffee overwhelmed the chocolate. I followed the recipe and was highly disappointed. Will not be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snoelle December 21, 2011
Chocolate Cake