Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2011

      This cake is amazing, everyone in the house loves it. My wifes only complaint is the mild chocolate flavor. I made a milk chocolate glaze to go with it. I made mine in a bundt pan and added chocolate chips to it. But they stuck to the pan a little. I will definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Very soft and moist cake though I was looking for a more chocolate flavor on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This was excellent! Dense and dark but not overdone. I topped it with basic buttercream and it's perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This cake was delicious but a little dense for my liking. I would definitely make it again though. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Incedibly moist and delicious. Used milk and water, not buttermilk and coffee, as I didn't have either available. Would definitely make again but would add more cocoa. Thank you! THis is now my only chocolate cake recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I made this cake for one of my twin boys for his 7th Birthday. I just used boiling water instead of coffee and used 3 cups of self raising flour instead of plain flour and baking soda.I frosted it with Kittencal's Chocolate Buttercream Frosting (Recipe 89207) Everyone loved it!!! My son decorated his cake with Smarties around the edges and his initial in the middle. Will definitely be making it again. Thanks for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      This is a good cake! It is very soft and fluffy, which I LOVE! But for my own personal taste, I like my cake a bit more rich. So maybe next time ill add more cocoa? But still, this was the best home made cake ive ever made!! And SO SO simple, which I loved!! I used unbleachd white flour and half real cultured raw milk buttermilk and half raw milk (because i only had 1/2c buttermilk left) and real cultured butter, and natural cocoa, so maybe the difference in ingredients made it somewhat different. But still beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      This was really nice, although a bit too heavy by itself so I would recommend serving it with cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Very easy. Mine was alittle heavier than what I like but over all it was good. Thanks for posting your recipe. I made this in honor of Chef-I-Am

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Delicious Cindly Lynn, just delicious. I love chocolate cake and this tall dark beauty does not disappoint. Very chocolatey, with great texture and taste. We will be enjoying this often. I used buttermilk, hot coffee and pure white and dark vanilla. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Made this tonight to take to work... Ended up using boiling water. Only change I made was to accidently omit the vanilla, and to add 2 tsp of cinnamon. Yummy! So good and easy. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      Nice recipe. I used the boiling coffee, but next time I'll just use water as I could taste something that just felt out of place. Thanks for the recipe, I'll surely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      I felt like eating chocolate cake last night and wanted something quick and simple. This cake is delicious and moist. It's great with or without frosting. Thanks, I'll definitely hang on to this one and make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      It was lovely as the cake but was just as nice served as a pudding the next day too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      Very moist cake. I used hot coffee instead of the boiling water. One of the easiest chocolate cakes I have made. I used your fluffy white frosting # 55965 Thanks Cindy Lynn. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      This is so easy to do it is almost faster than a boxed cake mix. It is excellent. I would recommend using coffee in it as suggested. Just pickes it up a bit more. Thanks Cindy Lynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      I made this for my sister, she does not like overly rich choc taste. This went over very well with her and others. Easy to make too and so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      This cake was good and easy, altho a bit heavier than I would normally like.(Probably something I did in the mixing process I'd imagine) The coffee is a great touch as it really enhances the chocolate flavor. I do believe I will be using this recipe quite often, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      This cake is so great. What could be better than easy chocolate cake? It's also very moist! I served with chocolate topping and fresh strawberries on top. It looked so fancy and was actually super easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2004

      We had this cake warm for my sister's birthday party. It was easy to make, but the texture was rubbery and the taste resembled hardboiled eggs. My family thought it was better the next day. I probably mixed it too long, and may have added the hot water before the eggs were mixed in--but other than that I can't figure out what I did wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    24%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 37.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 426.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 27.5 g
    110%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites